Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:54 p.m. - 2009-10-15
Turbulence

So many unexpected twists and turns. The good stuff: I'm getting one more surgery, then that's it. Not a mastectomy, just more tissue gone. Another day surgery. Then four to six weeks of recovery and staging for radiation, then radiation. At this rate, I'll be wrapping up my radiation around New Year's Day. A nice way to start 2010.

This morning at work my in-between boss - a woman with whom I've been friends since she started here and who has stepped in to manage the gap between my boss' impending retirement in March and my "affliction" has been on my case about the woman who is my direct report. She feels this woman does not give good customer service. This woman works like a dog for me, is not allowed to put in for overtime, get's the projects that everyone forgets about until seven minutes before they need them despite our prodding, urging reminding...so when I spoke up to the in-between boss, and reminded her about some of this on the phone, it did not go well and she asked for a report of all the projects on which we are working, their scope, which department requested them, whether or not they had a project request form, etc. It took me an hour to put the report together. Then she wanted a meeting with the three of us. It was unpleasant. I know she means well and wants to advocate but it is making my life more difficult. I had to spend time consoling my coworker; I had to rush out to get to my oncologist appointment; I lost an hour writing that report.

My other good news - 6.4 lbs at WW this week! That is good.

My mother wants to come next week when I have my surgery (I don't have a date yet.) I keep telling her I will be fine (I have been the last two times...) and that she should save her money and energy to come when I actually can do stuff with her.

So that's where things are at the moment. And my brain hurts a little.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!