Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:30 a.m. - 2009-09-25
Am I expecting too much?

Happy, happy Friday dance! Guess I didn't post yesterday. It was a crazybusy day at work and everyone is trying to recover from the layoffs. Also I discovered that Andy has been getting up after we go to bed to get on the computer - specifically Facebook.

And when I confronted him (because I check his facebook and youtube pages regularly and he knows it) he denied it and said that his computer clock must be off. And when I pointed out that then the clocks of the five other friends who replied to him must have their clocks set the same way he does, he knew he was busted.

I just don't get why he lies to us? He also lied about the fact that he trimmed his bangs. Andy has been growing his hair for nearly a year with NO HAIRCUTS and we've been fine with that - offering to pay for him to go to a stylist so that it isn't in his face, but he's declined.

So when I found the hair in the wastebasket and also saw that his bangs were about a half inch long from the previous four or five inches, he STILL denied it. And then I asked him again if he wanted to rethink his answer or do a mobile shout out.

Love that cash cab.

Anyway, he relented and admitted that he had lied about both things, and I did the parent thing and said that lying is not tolerated by spouse or me, so he would be cut off from any computer use (except for school) for "a while" and the computer was coming out of his room that night, and until further notice he was restricted from face book, you tube, email or any other electronic medium. And that for at least several months, he would only be able to use the computer in our family room. While we were there.

Which is ironic because the night before we let him take one of the web cams we bought a couple of years ago, install it and log onto skype, where he proceeded to talk with a girl he met on the cruise vacation last month. (She lives in Alabama and is in sixth or seventh grade.) It was such a gift to get to hear him talk to this girl - hear what he talked about, see him be fairly unselfconscious and completely oblivious to the fact that his mother, father and grandmother were in the room and witnessing this interaction.

And then the next day to find out that after he had come up to our bedroom for a final cuddle around 10:30 p.m., he asked if we could shut our door because "the light was too bright" (even though we had no light on.) So.

It is the lying that pisses me off. Not the hair cutting so much, nor the computer - but that a) he thinks he has to lie to us and b) he thinks we are too stupid to see the clues before us!!! I'm just getting stupider as he gets older.

He also said that "all his friends" were siding with another kid at school about comments someone else had made about his facebook account. The fat story made thin is that the main ring leader is a boy who used to be best friends with a boy that Andy is now friendly with. We're watching that situation, and Andy is realizing that not everyone is going to think he is fabulous in middle school. Ugh.

So here are some things that I did not necessarily want to know about:

1. McKenzie Phillips incestuous affair. Why? Why does she need to spill that out? It isn't that I'm saying we shouldn't do everything to protect children, but she was 19, and NOW we have to talk about it? This isn't coming out the way I mean it. I don't doubt that she is a victim. I just don't really need to have a book that tells me all about it.

2. I had another thing, but I can't remember it now.

Here is what I do know about:

My second surgery is scheduled for 12:20 next Wednesday. This time I don't have to do the repeat mammograms, nuclear medicine, x-rays, etc. It will just be cut, cut, cut, stitch and go.

Here is what I think is awesomely cool:

The amateur find of Anglo-Saxon jewelry and accessires by a guy who bought a used metal detector and went through a freshly plowed field.

Here is what annoys me.

My in laws.

Andy has to do a boy scout thing after his lesson on Saturday, so spouse went to their house to do some chores for them after he dropped my mother at the airport on Wednesday and asked if we could come 35 minutes later on Saturday. They said no. They didn't want to change their schedule. These are people who have no places to go or be. By choice. So I just got out of seeing them on Saturday.

But at least they called to see how I am doing. NOT. And they sent a card. NOT. And they said thanks for the three meals I sent down with spouse for them to freeze. ALSO NOT.

But I am not bitter.

Here are things that I want to do in the coming months:

1. Make sure I have windowboxes on my house next spring

2. Get tickets to go to Tanglewood next summer.

3. Redecorate our bedroom.

4. Cure cancer.

And for now that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!