Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:19 p.m. - 2009-09-21
Clementines are early this year

I am so disoriented by the passage of time. Last week feels like months ago, and yet I feel that so much has happened in the last five days.

The weekend was busy. I worked a big chunk on Friday, then my boss called me in to tell me about all kinds of changes at work that will directly affect me. Friday afternoon a woman I know but am not particularly close to dropped off dinner. That was such a nice thing to do! Apricot chicken, rice pilaf, peas and carrots and a lime cake.

Saturday we sort of hung out, I took Andy to his sax lessons, looked for a new pillow for him, picked up a few groceries, ate leftovers for lunch, and then my bro, SIL and their kids came over to hang out. We made them snacks, then spouse and I went to a work event (my boss' 60th surprise birthday party) though I knew I'd stay only an hour or so. I was dragging by the time that rolled around, so we didn't stay for more than an hour and a half, then we met my bro, SIL, mother, Andy and our friends for dinner at an Italian restaurant we'd never tried. It was tasty (I had porketta with roasted veggies.) Spouse had the veal garibaldi. My niece whined the whole freakin' time - too cold, too bored, too hungry, why wasn't the food coming faster. I tried to ignore her.

Our friends and their two teenaged sons came too which was very fun, and we had a nice night, came home and I crashed. Sunday I was up early and Andy and I went to 7:30 Mass, then got donuts, read the paper some and I had to go to work for a couple of hours. We went and had a late breakfast at our favorite place, and took the scenic road home through some 18th century farms. My Aunt and Uncle who are not my aunt and uncle came to see us and ended up staying for dinner. I used up some leftover chicken and some new Indian chicken that my friend had brought, made rice, spinach and we had a feast. At one point this weekend, we had 7 kinds of rice in the fridge from different meals that we had from neighbors, had made ourselves or from take-out.

I have a follow-up appointment with the surgeon on Friday and expect to get the rest of the pathology reports then if I can't nag it out of someone by Wednesday.

My Mom leaves on Wednesday. So far, this has been a good visit - she hasn't had too much to drink and she has been very supportive. I know she is struggling with this too and I want to comfort her. My Dad checks in by phone a few times a day. I haven't spoken with my sister, so either something's up or my nephew hasn't given her the messages.

That about brings things up to date.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!