Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:16 p.m. - 2009-09-17
Is there a patron saint of boobies?

So far so good. Yesterday I really couldn't move I was so tired and achey. Today I am better. I went to work for three hours, and then came home, worked online some more, had lunch with my mother and now we're waiting for Andy to get home. I think we'll get some Vietnamese take-out for dinner tonight. We also have to go to Andy's curriculum night tonight and I want to save my energy.

Another woman I work with is beginning the journey I started a few weeks ago. Not that I have anything to do with it, but because I said something, she was especially vigilant about doing a breast self exam. She found something, and initial tests say it is not just a cyst. She also has MS so she has all kinds of other issues to deal with, but I know how she feels because she is so frightened and waiting for any scrap of real information.

Did I write that I arrived home to a basket full of cards and gift cards to area restaurants so I wouldn't have to cook when I got home Tuesday? And my Indian friend left me a bag of tantoori chicken to cook, and another friend dropped off a loaf of harvest bread (oh. my!) and another friend dropped off flowers and a bag of breakfast pastry. So I'm thinking of writing a book that's called "Breast Cancer can make you Fatter."

I am just overwhelmed by the love and support around me - prayers, comfort, cards, meals, flowers, kindness.

My co-worker rounded up about 20 smooth pebbles and wrote little things on each pebble - go dance, count your blessings, remember the love around you - such a sweet gesture.

Yesterday my brother even came to visit - and he brought flowers. We made lunch (the tandoori chicken, rice and some eggplant) and just hung out for a few hours; then last night another neighbor friend came for a few hours and we discussed the ending of our favorite soap opera.

The rigid fear and clarity I had earlier in the week seems to have abated. That's not such a bad thing.

And for now, there is so much I have.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!