Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:03 a.m. - 2009-08-31
I have promises to keep

I kept pretty busy all weekend. Friday afternoon, my folks came back from my brother's. We all had a late lunch (I had just gotten back from the hospital); then they headed off, and we headed home. I worked for a few hours, then ordered pizzas for dinner. Saturday I took Andy to his sax lesson - my Mom was supposed to come, but she slept in. Came home, began the festival of laundry, did some grocery shopping and made dinner (Turkey on the rotisserie, fresh tomatoes, corn, asparagas roasted with butter, lemon and parmesan; sweet potatoes and stuffing. My Aunt and Uncle who aren't my aunt and uncle came to hang out with my parents. My aunt brought several bottles of wine, but again, my mother was on good behavior. I'm not sure whether I should say something or not. Saturday afternoon, my father, Andy and I went to church, then finished the prep for dinner and my aunt and uncle arrived. My folks visited with my aunt and uncle, and eventually we all watched the last parts of the Kennedy funeral. I found it very moving, especially the darkness.

Sunday, my folks made plans with their RI friends to go to brunch, and I had made plans with my neighbor to go to breakfast, so my aunt and uncle came with us and we had a good time. We all got home around the same time, then went to the Christmas Tree Shoppes because my father wanted to go. If you are not from New England, this is a chain of stores that sells a little bit of everything, but is heavy on the tschochke - especially stuff centered around the holidays. I got some halloween dish towels, a halloween flag with Snoopy on it form y sister, some wrapping paper, some biscotti for my folk's breakfast, a can of cashews for spouse, and a door mat in the shape of a lobster.

I announced that everyone was responsible for their own supper (we have a ton of leftovers - turkey, pizza, thai food); and since I was too full from breakfast, I didn't eat.

Last night I had wierd dreams that I couldn't use the phone - that the number I'm supposed to call today for results kept changing, and that I was lost in the hospital with strange elevators that kept getting stuck. Symbolism much?

Today I have a ginormous presentation from 12 to 2 that will keep me busy; then I will make my call at three and hope that it isn't another day of waiting.

Thank you for your wonderful messages and emails. Your thoughts and prayers have really helped. I am counting my blessings.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!