Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:00 p.m. - 2009-08-28
No word yet

So here is what I know - not much. I got in at 7:30 a.m., was taken for ultra sound, then another mammogram, then another ultra sound, then two doctors came in (yes, just breathe, breathe, breathe), then they do more ultra sound, and schedule a biopsy, but tell me not to worry.

There are now enough images of my left breast to make a coffee table book.

I go back out and wait for the okay from the floor supervisor to do the biopsy this morning. They get the okay, but first they need another mammography picture or five. Then the biopsy - painful, but doable. Five samples. Ice, a tag (internally I now have a little titanium breast cancer ribbon to mark where the biopsy was done); then another mammography picture with the tag, then over to the surgeon in another part of the hospital who speaks with me and offers me a sandwich. I didn't cry until the sandwich, but by that time five hours had gone by.

Everyone thinks it is nothing and said so. My last mammogram was June 24. They don't really see anything major, but there is something, they just aren't sure what it is and are being exceedingly cautious. I know that is good. I just want to know that now. And I have to wait until Monday or Tuesday.

But everyone said that even if it was the worst case scenario, it is very early, and they congratulated me fore being vigilant about breast self exams, and said that even five or ten years ago, they never would have even had the technology to detect it, so whatever this is it is either early or nothing. Another good title for my autobiograhy.

This is the hospital where Andy was born, so for good luck, I went out the door we went out of when we came home after he and I were discharged from ICU 12 and a half years ago.

I have not told my parents, though there are staying with us until next Thursday. I will probably say something once I hear next week.

The doctors paid for my parking since my one hour visit turned into five, but I am so grateful that I have decent insurance and everyone was willing to do things quickly so I will know sooner rather than later.

So for now, I'll wait until next week.

And thank you for so many nice comments and emails. I would welcome prayers if you do that.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!