Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:40 p.m. - 2009-08-17
But it does make a difference.

I feel like the weekend was months ago. I woke up this morning and wasn't quite sure where I was or what day it was. Friday was busy at work - my co-worker and I worked our tails off, then went and had breakfast for lunch. Spouse joined us. Then I did more work, and later spouse and I hit the farmers' market in town (it is very small, but we try and buy stuff from each stand.) One of the farmers gives us some of her "damaged" greens for the piggie who appreciates them greatly.

Friday early evening, spouse and I hung out before I went to scrapbook. It makes me a little melancholy to realize the photos I am missing since my camera is still MIA. I did get a call from the cruise lost and found office saying they hadn't found it yet, but I gave them the number of the kind security officer who had phoned me a day or two after I'd lost the camera to say he had it and that it should be processed in a week or two. Hopefully those two offices made a connection and I will get my camera back.

Anyway, cropping was fun, came home earlyish, then crashed. Got up early, showered then spouse and I hit a neighbor/friend's yard sale and bought a drum pad for another neighbor's son. Then we went and had breakfast, picked up some school supplies for Andy and then I went back to crop for a couple of hours. I went to church and spouse and I shared a pizza before going to see "Julie and Julia." I really liked it.

Sunday we had a mellowish day, some cleaning, some laundry, paid all the bills, we're completely unpacked and put away from vacation; and also we continued to cat-sit for several neighbors. Did I say that I made one of those ice-box cakes for my neighborfriend's birthday? (The one with the whipped cream and the chocolate cookies?) Well I did, and it looks pretty good. It is ready to eat after it sits for at least 8 hours in the fridge.

I am not ready to be back to work. I LIKED having time for myself. I LIKED having time to read books. I LIKED not having to clean and cook and think about bills.

Definitely pining for Andy. He comes back late Wednesday night. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that my family makes it out of FL before any more tropical storms hit the state.

It has been pretty hot and humid - almost Florida-like since we've been back home, and I am grateful for the AC and my couch. That reclines. Did I say that my new favorite spot is on the right hand side of the couch. That reclines?

Did I say that Andy made friends with a girl from Peru on the ship? Did I write that he seems years ahead of his two-year older cousin who was very non-plussed that Andy might be interested in girls and vice versa? It was very odd and a little sad to watch, but I'm sure in just a few months that he'll catch up. My nephew is two-years older and going into high school next week; and it was peculiar watching Andy with the girl (who was Andy's age) and her brother. In so many ways, he is growing away and apart from us, and I know that is what he is supposed to do.

And that's all I have to say about that.

So for now, this is all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!