Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:34 a.m. - 2009-08-13
I was gone for awhile

I'm back. Had a great vacation - everyone was mostly on good behavior. I noticed my mother limited her drinking except for one night, though it is clear my father continues to smoke.

We got to Ft. Lauderdale two Saturdays ago and stayed with my brother and SIL. Saw a Miami Marlins game that was exceptionally exciting in the 9th inning - saw the "MAN-a-tees" cheerleaders - about a dozen enormous men with an equally enormous passion for their baseball team. We went to a night game, but it was exceedingly hot and humid, so I had a good schvitz for most of our trip. Andy was really happy to be there. The next day we all got up, had breakfast and trundled out to get our massages from the nearby massage school - $25 for an hour massage. Mine was pretty good. Spouse enjoyed his and B and SIL enjoyed theirs. Andy read (I offered to pay for one if he wanted, but he declined.)

Sunday afternoon/night we just hung out and our hosts packed. Monday morning the rest of the family arrived and we took a van to the ship and boarded. My sister and I agreed that the kids could go off on their own as long as there were at least two of them together, so Andy and his cousins were usually roaming the ship, discovering new places and riding the elevators in the atrium.

Tuesday was Key West - we took a tour, bought some water and came back to the ship for a late lunch.

Wednesday was Cozumel - no one except my brother and SIL got off the ship. They rented a jeep and drove around.

Thursday was Belize - my favorite - It is beautiful and the people were pretty friendly. We took a tour, hit some arts and crafts stands, then returned to the ship before it set sail again.

Friday was a day at sea - we did some of the trivia contests and won; and I lost my camera for the first time. Andy found it for me when he ran into a woman we had become friendly with - she picked it up for me and was going to turn it in to lost and found. I was crushed for about two hours until he found it.

Saturday was debarkation - and again I lost my camera. I was so angry with myself, but one of the security guards from the cruise line called me to say he'd found it a few days ago and it would be sent to the central office where someone would call me to make arrangements to have it shipped back. I am so mad at myself. What was I thinking???

As long as I get the photo chips back.

Saturday we drove back to my folks house and Saturday night we had dinner with my Florida friend and her husband. It was a nice evening, we caught up on all our gossip.

Sunday we went for breakfast at my favorite place near my folks house; then hit a few craft stores.

Monday we took my folks to lunch and the mawl; and then we came home and finished packing. My sister and her kids left mid-day on Monday.

Tuesday - back home - uneventful flights; luggage was there as soon as we got off the plane, car started, everything was good. Dropped off our luggage, got some lunch, picked up some groceries, started the post-vacation laundry and fell asleep. It was the best sleep I'd had all month.

And then yesterday - back to work and all its little battles and tribulations.

Wouldn't it be nice if we all just worked to do the best job instead of marking territories and staking claims and peeing in corners?

My eye twitch is back.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!