Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:50 p.m. - 2009-04-14
I also got chocolate in my basket

And where has the time gone? My folks left about an hour ago to go and stay with their friends overnight before they fly home. I'm back at work - still sick, but back. Andy is at school, spouse is at work. All schedules are back in place. It has been a busy two weeks!

Easter was nice - Andy and I went to early church, came home and started the cooking of all things pork - a ham and bacon for the neighborhood Easter Egg Hunt! But what about the days before?

Friday, Andy and I ran errands, did laundry, baked bread and I was still feverish and sick. I ducked out quicdkly to get some Easter basket stuff for Andy and spouse. Friday night I think we got a pizza and watched junky tee vee. Saturday morning was the usual saxophone lessons, then some more errands and Eastery-stuff; then we drove down to the in-laws to take them to dinner. MIL was in a good mood, FIL not so much. I can't tell if he's beginning to get senile or if he just hates me. Don't know. Don't really care. Isn't that awful of me?

Got home from the in-laws around 8:30 ish; then I went to my neighbors where we stuffed 300 plus plastic eggs for the hunt in the morning. Came home, watched the last bits of "The Ten commandments," baked a loaf of honey oatmeal bread, and fell asleep. Sunday was church, I know, I'm repeating myself, bacon and ham prep, egg hunt, then off to my brothers. We hung out, then he grilled marinated leg of lamb. We were in charge of bread and wine - how appropriate! Dinner was delish. Then "The Family Vacation" discussion started. We've been trying for months to find a chunk of time where someone doesn't have a previous commitment. I have two weeks in July; my sister has a different two weeks in July, my parents are free, my brother and other SIL are free, so it is just my local bro and his wife. Who have booked the entire summer. Who rarely come on vacations with us. So we've been waiting and waiting. I'm just figuring they won't come AGAIN, and if we book a week for next summer, then they can plan. It is either sailing lessons, or friends visiting or art classes...So my folks played the age card and asked to plan next year's vacation since my father will be 75. We'll see. My SIL was not happy by the time everyone left, and my brother didn't make a commitment either. So.

Brought my folks home. Did I already complain about the dearth of toll takers on the turnpike? It took us over an hour to make the 1/4 mile through the tolls because there was some kind of political/job action going on with the toll takers. There was also a six-mile back up leading to the tolls, so a trip that takes us about an hour, ended up taking more than two and a half. It was infuriating, because it was unnecessary.

Anyway, we hit even more traffic on the way home. My folks said they had a good visit with my brother, and when we got home, we all kind of collapsed and went to bed (after watching In Treatment.)

I took yesterday off, but I was still feeling sick, but last night was the first night in a week that I didn't have to sleep in a chair, so I am hopeful this infection is clearing up.

Yesterday I took my mother to her favorite yarn shop, my Dad came and we went for Thai food for lunch. Came home, and my aunt and uncle who aren't really my aunt and uncle came over for dinner (Cedar Planked salmon, corn, asparagas and rice, with apple pie for dessert.) Very yummy. They had a good visit, and now everyone seems to be back on schedule.

It is going to be a biggish week, though we have no firm plans for the weekend yet. YAY!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!