Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:53 a.m. - 2009-04-06
I'm having fun. Right?

Survived the weekend. Friday I finished the cleaning and some of the cooking. Picked up Andy at school, ordered a pizza, then headed out to the sixth grade carnival which was actually fun. I am always surprised by what some of the mommies wear. Andy introduced me to some of his new friends, the girls danced with the girls, the boys danced with the boys, or just stood on the dance floor. Almost everyone got tattoos. We were a big hit. Things wrapped up around 9 p.m., we did clean up, then Andy and I did the grocery shopping. Came home, Andy fell asleep, and I wrapped his birthday gifts, and the next thing you know it was time to take Andy to sax lessons, then go and pick up my folks.

Spouse's paper went well and it looks like me might even hook p with a publisher so the panel can't print an anthology of its research and presentations. That would be very, very good.

My folks got in on time, we stopped and got some soup, unpacked and waited for our dinner company. The crock pot turkey turned out really delish. I made gravy, an oatmeal bread, baked potatoes and roasted some green beans and carrots. One of the dinner guests brought a salad, and I made a pistachio cake (checked with Trader Joes to make sure the pistachios were safe.) Then it was time to go to the concert. Spouse came with us. HE arrived just in time for dinner, then decided he wanted to go to the concert. Sunday morning we were up and out early for church. Andy was bummed he had to get up so early on his TWELFTH BIRTHDAY!!! My brother, SIL and the kids arrived around 1, we hung out and then had an early Sunday dinner (Ham, caesar salad, crescent rolls, asparagas and chocolate cake.) Andy picked the menu.

Everyone stayed until around 6, then I started to clean up and crash. I took today off, but woke up with a cold. Ugh. Spent most of the night sleeping in the chair. I wish I had more cooperative sinuses.

Today we'll head out in the morning (I hope) but my mother is napping on the couch at the moment. It is supposed to be nasty this afternoon with thunder storms, so I'd like to get out in the a.m.

As I thought, they've changed plans and now want to go to my brother's a day early since he isn't working.

Whatever.

Andy had a great birthday. He got a DVD of "Howl's Moving Castle" one of his favorite movies; some anime/manga books; two Naruto head bands, a big bag of Japanese snacks, two other books and a gift certificate to the local game stop. He also has gift certificates for some new clothes, a sushi restaurant and the bookstore. Nice haul.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!