Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:24 a.m. - 2009-03-31
But I did expect the Spanish Inquisition

Some things you never expect...Yesterday was a crazy day in that I had to do two things I wasn't counting on: First, we had a presentation at work and though no one asked for us to take pictures, I thought it would be a good idea. Second, I had to go and help with a presentation off campus for a new business partner. And then when I picked up Andy and our rotisserie chicken (not at the same place - but don't you think public schools could make a lot of money by selling ready-made dinners? Pick up your kid, get a chicken...) Anyway. Brought Andy home, got dinner ready, prepped some spuds and green beans and asked Andy to get anything I would have to sign, read or pay for. We've had this running thing with Andy's log. He is supposed to fill it out each time he reads, but instead he just fills it out when it is due. We have discussed this since September. I want him to fill it out as he does it. In fact last time I said this was the last time I would sign it if he continued to fill it out just before handing it to us. So - I'm making dinner, he's getting his stuff - I don't hear anything, and there he is in the livingroom on the floor filling out the reading log. I ask him if that is what he is doing, and he looks me straight in the no.

Ahem.

I. Can. See. You.

Then he starts to cry. This kills me, because last month, my son stopped being a little boy (if they ever actually really do that) and here he is weeping in front of me. I asked him why he said that, and he sobs that he doesn't know and he's ashamed and cries some more. I told him that I couldn't talk to him right now because I was very sad and upset, that he should get his school things together and we would talk in a few minutes. I never raised my voice.

Spouse comes in. Andy continues to sob. We finally got through everything, started eating dinner, and discuss what we should do. Andy suggests that he has no computer time for a week. I ask what will happen if his reading log isn't signed when he turns it in, and is marked that it isn't turned in, but he had earned a free pass last month for having all of his assignments.

So I came up with this compromise. We will sign the log, but if this happens again, he will lose his summer music camp. Which would kill both of us if it happens.

So. I don't know whether to be relieved that he would like to me when it was so obvious I knew what was happening, so that he could figure out what I would do, or if I should be terrified that he would lie so easily.

It was kind of a rough evening.

This morning, the electrician came for 8 minutes, replaced some box in the bedroom wall that controls our bedroom light and left with a check for $100. I may be in the wrong line of work.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!