Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:26 a.m. - 2009-03-16
Spring break is over

Still stuck in not getting as much done as I thought I would mode. Nice weekend - the weather was cheerful and warming up. After Andy's sax lesson, we went to lunch at our favorite Mexican restaurant, then came home for more house workey stuff. Andy had a birthday party, so I took some of the kids, and a neighbor did pick up. While he was gone, our friend Dan called and asked if we wanted to go to dinner - they'd gotten a sitter last minute. So, we changed our plans, got Andy a sub, got some cash and headed out. It wa a nice evening - spouse and I were trying to be frugal, and fortunately the other couple asked for separate checks since they had wine and cocktails, and we didn't. Sunday, Andy and I did church, and I got to work on some meals for the week and got into baking six loaves of Irish soda bread. It is quite tasty. My boss was reminiscing about a bakery in Ohio he used to go to, so that's what made me think of baking it. Even ANDY liked it!

As I despair that my little boy is turning into a teenager, he spend a good part of the weekend in a fort he made in the living room out of all of the sofa cushions. He brought in his music and a little flameless candle and some books, and hung out for a few hours each day.

Spoke with all of the siblings this weekend. My brother is deciding whether to lay himself off or stick it out until he finds another job. My sister is doing pretty good, though my niece was incensed that she'd have to get up at 8 a.m. on Saturday to go to work with her mother when she'd like to sleep until noon. She is 9.

My folks sounded good. My mother hinted that the wine and liquor cabinet is now filled with all kinds of coffees that they like.

This weekend I paid some bills, took care of a ton of paper work, did laundry, baked, made escarole soup for tonight's dinner and meatballs for last night's dinner; and tried to get some of my scrapbooking stuff organized for next weekend. I CAN'T WAIT!!!

I think I over-flossed this morning.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!