Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:42 p.m. - 2009-02-10
Two of the next three holidays are all about the candy

I am February stuck - not quite getting over the sinus and pneumonia; not quite in total pain from the root canal, but not quite comfortable; not quite keeping my head above water at work, at home...

Did I write that a student at Andy's school is sending hateful IMs about my son? This boy and Andy have few if any interactions. I brought it to the attention of the school last week. No response. Several other parents brought it to my attention. Still no response from the school. Other students have let their teachers know about these indcidents, and the vice principal's response was to tell Andy to print out the offending IMs. We do not allow Andy to IM yet. He can go on the Internet when we are in the room (we only have one computer.) He is not allowed yet on face book or my space. But the vice principal wants him to find these messages, and enough time has elapsed so that the kid who is sending these to other students has had time to erase them. I wrote a brief letter to the vice principal yesterday asking why we had not been brought into the conversation, and his response was quick but unsatisfying this morning. His first excuse was that this was actually happening outside of school, and we should go ahead and notify the police if we feel there is danger. His second responsewas that they wanted to meet with the other boy's parents, but that they were unable to come to school. So we keep everyone else hanging.

I am beside myself. Is Andy in any real danger? Should I escalate this? Is the other boy getting the help he needs? Is this kid going to carry around resentment because he got caught and take it out on Andy or other kids?

I am not sure what to do.

In other change-of-plans news, I mentioned to my dentist that Andy was going to the orthodentist yesterday, and she actually blanched. She then backpedalled a bit, but when I pressed her, she suggested we find someone else. I'm a bit confused now, we went to Andy's regular appointment where I was told that Andy would get an internal appliance (like a retainer) but that no teeth would be pulled, which I agree with. But in the meantime, I also made an appointment with another orthodentist for next month. Why didn't I know this earlier? Am I not doing enough research?

I know, I'm whining. I have so much to be grateful for. Last night I got to interview an editorial cartoonist, who is also an alum, and we spoke right after the president's press conference - that is a really cool thing!

So I'll see what happened with Andy today at school and we'll figure out what's going on.

Tonight I'm going to a friend's new office open house. Her practice is doing so well, that she needed more space. She is refusing to participate in the recession.

Here is what I want: Chicken soup.

Here is what I think is amusing: The brouhaha (yes, it is a word) about the facebook 25 random things, and to think that d-landers and other journalers have been doing that for evah.

Here is what I also think. I need chocolate.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!