Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:01 a.m. - 2009-01-15
I have imaginary friends too

Apparently the cold has addled me, as I once again convinced myself that I had posted a witty, conversation-starting entry. Apparently, I did not.

Lessee - Andy's concert was Tuesday night and we really enjoyed it. He looked so grown up in his black shirt and black pants which gave a great shiny contrast to his saxophone. He would not make eye contact. He did not want his picture taken, but after the concert he was his bubbly self, wanting a slice of the chocolate cake from the baked-goods table that ironically we had to buy back after donating the cake. My aunt and uncle (wanmaaa) came for dinner, went to the concert and spent the night. They slept in, so we were all gone (except for spouse who was working at home) when they got up around 10:30 and at the oven baked oatmeal I made the night before. I came by after my lunch meeting with a printer, and they were still there. I think we might have even been able to talk them into staying another night, but they had to get back to their cat and make sure their pipes weren't freezing in this headline-making cold snap.

This morning there was the most feeble of suns - just a light smudge really, and we were supposed to get snow today - about 4 inches, but so far nothing has appeared.

I was sideways invited to a coffee klatch group of mommies (some of whom I know) that meets at a coffee shop in the next town every Thursday. I thought about going - I had it on my calendar, and decided maybe I would not really be welcome but when I got into the office, there were two phone calls asking me where I was? They were so excited to hear that I'd be coming...made me smile this morning, and remind myself to not let my confidence hybernate too.

Last night was kind of a lost night - I remember plunking down on the couch - I remember suggesting leftovers for spouse and Andy to have for dinner, but then I don't remember much until the second half of a PBS special on comedy, so that means I did not pay the bills, empty the dishwasher or make spouse's lunch.

Tonight we're having either pasta and home-made meatballs, or turkey and box stuffing. I haven't decided. I'm leaning towards the turkey myself, but I don't want to fall asleep and miss the last two CSIs with Grissom.

We're having company for dinner on Saturday and I'm looking forward to that. I'm making chicken paprikash which is a fancy name for chicken, mushrooms, sour cream and paprika. My folks brought us some paprika last year when they were in Hungary, so it should be pretty good.

And I get paid today. Hallelujah! We've been a bit cash strapped since last week.

You know, yesterday's imaginary entry was brilliant. Much better than this one.

I would welcome any comments from de-lurkers - that seems to be the January trend in other journals/blogs that I read.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!