Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:35 a.m. - 2009-01-12
Sun's out

Oh how I love the weekends, even though we were pretty busy. Friday I got my health things taken care of and spouse and I went to IKE@ - I found a linen cabinet that would be perfect for what I want for the new flatscreen tv we bought last month, but sadily it was not yet in stock, and even more sadly, we don't have the money right now. I also found a great cabinet that would be good for the diningroom. Right now, I have my grandmother's old china cabinet with glass doors. It is singularly ugly and when my father and brother moved it from her house to mine, they weren't careful, so it has several significant scratches, but I keep thinking it is only temporary. My father laughs every time he sees it, because we store our extensive liquor collection (three bottles that are decades old) under the cabinet the way his mother did.

Friday night we had home-made pizza and watched "Hancock" - a DVD our neighbor lent us. I thought it was hysterical, especially the parts about the public relations campaigns. Saturday morning we were up and out early - Spouse took Andy to sax and I did the dream dinners thing. Then we rushed off to the in-laws to take them to lunch. (MIL decided that we should do lunch rather than dinner because of the impending snow.) Had lunch, Andy and I went to church while spouse picked up a few groceries, then we were home for the rest of the weekend and waited for the snow. I kept a pork roast out from the Dream Dinners for Sunday, so we had the roast, mashed potatoes, spinach and mixed veggies - oh, so yummy. Saturday night we had leftovers and watched the last Indiana Jones movie, so it was like a mini cinema-fest for me this weekend!

My sister and her kids went to see Blue Man Group in Orlando - we gave them tickets for Christmas. My nephew loved it and wants to go again.

This is another busy week - scouts, karate, band concerts - and my aunt and uncle who are not my aunt and uncle are coming tomorrow to see Andy's band concert and sleeping over. Tonight I have to remember to make a cake for the band bake sale.

Took Andy to the orthodontist this morning and it looks like he'll have to have some teeth pulled. Ugh. We'll know more in a few weeks.

Here are my weekend observations based on the Golden Globes.

Women wore one shoulder on and one shoulder off kind of gowns.

It really IS all about them. I was surprised at their audacity in telling the producers - their HOSTS - that they would stay on stage as long as they wished to even though they, as "actors/artists" were clearly unprepared and ineloquent.

Note to self: Go see Slumdog Millionaire and In Brugge.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!