Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:42 a.m. - 2009-01-05
Maybe I needed that holiday frenzy?

I suspect this will be the Mondayist Monday of the year. There are no happy faces on campus right now. Our "inter-session" began today at 8 a.m. and we had a bit of an ice issue this morning - freezing rain overnight, and it took me about four times to get up the hill of our neighborhood. Spouse did the carpool thing this morning (It is our week to drive) because one of the kids had to bring his snow board for a field trip this afternoon and my car is too small for it. Hmmm.

It was a nice weekend. I came home Friday afternoon and my aunt and uncle were still here. We went to an early-ish dinner (Lamb Shanks!) and they headed home around 10 p.m.

Sunday morning we were out early for Andy's sax lesson, then some errands, Andy had a play date (do they still call them that when the kids are nearly 12?) and Andy and I went to church. Our neighbors called and invited us to take a trip to the Man Mall (near the football stadium which is bereft of playoff games this year) and have dinner at Five Guys burgers. If there is one near you, you must go! Good, hearty burgers and fries and nothing else (well, soda.)

Then we hung out in the lounge at the Bass Pro Shop while the manly men looked to spend their gift cards. It was just a nice evening with my neighborfriend. Headed home, snuggled in and knew we wouldn't have to get up at any particular time on Sunday, so I actually slept until 8! We woke to an unexpected inch of snow. We had plans with our other neighbors to go to brunch at Cr@cker B@rrel around noon, then we picked up some guinea pig hay and came home to finish the newspapers and the laundry. We did some more de-Christmasing, and now all that's left are the outside spiral trees, the inside miniature tree collection and some stuff on the mantel.

Last night I heated the last pan of party macaroni and cheese and we had that for dinner along with some mini-meatballs I made for soup earlier in the day. At some point this week we'll have escarole soup - I'm thinking Wednesday, since we're expecting an ice storm.

Andy was not happy about getting back into the school routine, but was showered, packed and sorted by the time it was bedtime. He had been at the Y for a few hours playing basketball with some of his friends.

So we're back to the business of making 2009 fit and be comfortable like 2008. I don't mind a few pleasant surprises, but I am also stubborn and comforted by routine.

It would be better if there was at least some sun today, but all there was was a smudge of like like a dirty thumbprint.

There is no scouts, no CCD, nothing after school (that I am aware of) so it will be a good week to ease into the new year. This weekend, the in-laws want us to take them to dinenr on Saturday.

So tonight I will write out more thank-you notes, put a new table cloth on the dining room table (YES! It is still uncluttered - hahahahaha) and finish putting away decorations.

I'd like something to look forward to -a little trip, a summer vacation, but I'm sure that will be revealed to me as the weeks and months progress.

I'm not trying to wish the time away - in fact when I think about Andy growing up and away, I'm having a hard time breathing a little bit - I just want the new year to fit more comfortably - like a favorite pair of socks.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!