Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:39 a.m. - 2009-01-02
Happy, happy Friday dance

Back at work. I started the New Year with a cleaning at the dentist. Makes me feel kind of virtuous. On this first business day of 2009 I managed to get on a load of wash, empty the dishwasher, go to the dentist, get to work, open my new calendar and talk to my parents.

Yesterday's party was nice - in total we probably had about 50 people, including my friend who lost his wife this past summer. He seems to be doing well, though I can't imagine how he holds it together.

I have few leftovers - which is kind of a good thing. The party was officially from 1 to 4, but the last guests left around 5:30, and my brother, SIL and the kids hung out until about 7:30. We exchanged gifts - I think they liked what we got them, but I can never tell (a port decanter, some port and a sushi tray; the kids got movie tickets and a spa certificate.) They gave Andy a tablet for his computer and a microphone, so I know we'll be seeing more animated videos from him. They gave spouse a bottle of wine and they gave me a wireless router! I just have to figure out how to install it.

My aunt and uncle (who are not my aunt and uncle, blah, blah, blah...) gave us a gift card to Cracker Barrel - our favorite breakfast place, and some lavendar scented soap, lotions and gels - my favorite.

I think that concludes the gift giving portion of this season.

No specific plans for the weekend except for de-Christmasing the house and getting the decorations reorganized - it was crazy this year - everything was a bit mixed together, so I'm hopeful that between the bins and my determination, it will be better organized for next year. Andy has a sax lesson tomorrow morning, and we might go to breakfast with our neighbors on Sunday after church.

It will be strange not to wrap, purchase, write cards, bake or shop for awhile. In my perfect world, Christmas doesn't happen until January 25, so we get a whole two months of holiday jollity.

But I'd probably complain about that too.

No one is here in the office except for a receptionist on the first floor, and the campus is pretty empty. I'm sure it will be bustling on Monday.

I'm feeling the edges of the winter blahs creeping in and trying to keep it at bay, but I'm not sure how.

Maybe the happy Friday dance will help!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!