Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:37 a.m. - 2009-01-01
Also there will be a ham

I'm hopeful that yesterday was just 2008 playing itself out and not a preview of 2009. My sister is really, really sick - like 103 fever sick. Two of my friends called to say that even though they said they would be coming to our party today, they got other offers and are going there instead. My aunt and uncle who usually spend New Year's Eve with us decided not to come because of the weather. My MIL told us AGAIN how busy BIL and SIL were so they didn't bother to get us a Christmas gift. We've already been told that. They. Are. Too. Busy. And. Important. For. Us. Then she said she is coming to the New Year's Day party, but won't bring spouse the newspaper section he asked her to save because she doesn't feel like it. What is with the withholding?

My best neighborfriend is also not coming because her New Year's eve visit with in-laws has been rescheduled. I get it. So we ended up going to another friend's place and had a quiet, mellow New Year's eve with pretzels, cheese and crackers and cranberry bread, and came home around 12:30.

I spent about 45 minutes feeling annoyed and underappreciated and then pushed through it. Is this my lesson for 2009? Or is this a sign that I won't be in a snit for 2009?

Bundt cake is in the oven. Black eyed peas and greens salad is made. Salsa made, guacamole made, veggie tray made. Just have to...wait for it...

Clean off the dining room table.

Don't know what today will bring. I'll just let it be a pleasant surprise.

Happy New Year!

And for now that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!