Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:28 p.m. - 2008-12-16
All I want

I guess I missed Monday. I had some medical stuff, but I could have sworn I posted. I have such a rich fantasy life.

Anyway - the weekend was nonstop. Friday night we finished up some Christmas shopping and spouse made pizza. It was yummy! We did some more wrapping and baking. I made MIL's birthday cake (fresh orange with an orange glaze); an Andes Candy chocolate cake, which we now call Andy Candy Chocolate cake - chopped Andes mint candies mixed into a chocolate cake. (I love the Cake Doctor cookbook.) That cake was for the concert Saturday night, but I dropped it off at Andy's sax lesson; then I made some small chocolate fudge pound cakes that I used for gifts, and glazed them with a mocha glaze. I also made some shortbread dough but didn't bake it (for the cookie swap on Sunday.) Saturday was sax lesson, off to the in-laws for MIL's birthday lunch, then we made two stops - a new Trader Joe's that is the paradise of all Trader Joe's (Except they don't have wine/beer.) We also stopped at Tuesday Morning because I thought they might have the large mugs that go with my Christmas Tree Spode pattern, but they were sold out. Headed home, Andy and I went to church, then changed, had a quick dinner, picked up Andy's friend and the four of us went to the Christmas concert. Got home around 11 and collapsed. I actually slept until 8:15 on Sunday morning! Did some more wrapping, cards, cleaning and packing, and handled a couple of work-related issues. Finished the laundry, changed the beds and did some more decorating. At 7 I headed to the neighborhood cookie swap with Andy and we had a nice time. There were 8 mommies, two of whom only brought two dozen cookies even though they came last year and knew they were to bring a half-dozen for each person. Oh well.

Monday was a blur, spouse drove me. Monday afternoon I came home, handled some more work stuff, met a friend for coffee, made the jambalaya dream dinner (it was goodish but not greatish) and I think that's it. My mother has been depressed and wanted some sympathy. My father has lost the Christmas decorations which means when we get down there we will have to find them and decorate. Can I just say Ugh? Can I just say if you want to host Christmas KNOWING that you are going to have surgery, that you should maybe do some advanced planning? Can. I. Just. Say.

Cleansing breath.

I would like to have a nice family Christmas without my sister worrying about her divorce or my mother telling me she wants to kill herself, or my father sneaking cigarettes, or my brother thinking of breaking up with his girlfriend, or my nephew telling my mother he just wants to end it all. Oh wait. I'm stressing out again aren't I.

I would like to be a sympathetic daughter, sister, friend, wife.

Is that better?

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!