Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:49 a.m. - 2008-12-04
Dreams - all sorts.

Once again, I could have sworn I posted yesterday, but here is the electronic evidence to the contrary.

Yesterday was crazed (don't I say that alot?) Lots of meetings - lots of drama. This week I am working qwith producers from MTV and the Discovery Channel. This is a dream come true for people who do what I do. But it is also a ton of work.

Talked to my mother a couple of times. She sounds much better and is doing all of her physical therapy. My father seems a bit befuddled though. I'll have to keep an eye on that.

I've gotten a couple of comments and emails about Dream Dinners (Hi Lisa - can't figure out how to post on your site - yes, I'm a luddite.)

Dream Dinners is a franchise (I think they are national) where you go and prep meals. First you choose from the monthly menu, then you order meals - either in three or six-portion sizes. I vary, even though there are only three of us 1: Spouse is a big eater, though naturally trim - (HOW DARE HE!); and I usually use the leftovers for lunches, or freeze them in plastic containers for use another time.

Anyway, once you choose your meals, you arrive to make your meals - it is all layed out for you in stations - every ingredient is at your finger tips, every item is prepped, chopped, every tool is available within arm's reach. You assemble your meal (mostly measuring and mixing) place it in freezer bags, label it and freeze it. That means you have to plan at least 24 hours ahead to make most meals, so usually on the weekends, I pull out a couple of meals and thaw them in the fridge. It isn't cheap, but it is a decent value, and it has saved us from going out to eat on many occasions.

There are other similar franchises. I have to say, when I first heard about it a few years ago, I thought it was kind of stupid. I like to cook (no, cooking is not hard) and I like knowing what is in what I'm eating. But I tried a freebie preview with a friend, and it works for me right now. I'd say about 2/3rds of the dinners are really fabulous, the rest are either so so, or we'd never eat them again, but we've been pleased for the most part, and spouse and Andy like them.

Moving on. Last night I had to work and cover the opening of one of the student productions. I finally just admitted to myself that I'm not a live theatre person. I'm not forgiving enough to excuse people for being in-sincere. Isn't that mean of me?

Anyway, I didn't get home last night until nearly midnight and I am pooped today.

Met a work friend from a previous job for lunch yesterday and had a great time catching up.

Today: Meeting, meeting, another short meeting, running out to get some office supplies, webinar, talk to producer in NY, talk to producer in CA, talk to director in NY. Talk to attorney. Campus tree lighting, then home. I may go out to pick up some movie ticket gift cards for Christmas presents.

Tonight's dinner - stuffed flouder, green beans. (Dream dinner - one of our FAVORITES!)

Andy got his report card - he made honor roll - all As, and a B in history which puzzles me. But he's definitely made the transition to middle school and it is working for him. YAY!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!