Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:16 a.m. - 2008-12-02
Official Christmas Tree on Car Count: 6

The turkey in the crockpot (well, half a turkey) turned out really, really well! I cut up an onion, a couple of stalks of celery, a large carrot and put it in the bottom of the crock; then put the half turkey which I sprinkled with adobo seasoning and cooked it at high for four hours (as the "Year of Crockpotting" blog suggested) making sure the thigh reached 140 degrees w/in three hours, which it did. Then I cooked it on low for another three, and spouse and Andy just loved it! Andy got his drum stick; spouse got a big pile of white meat and I got part of the thigh. The rest is enough for two complete teevee dinners which I froze, and there's enough to make a nice turkey divan casserole that I will also freeze. The half turkey was 5 or 6 lbs I think.

Last night I finished up my Christmas family craft which is a photo book of pictures of all the events around the wedding (shower, rehearsal, rehearsal dinner, getting ready for the wedding, and the breakfast the day after the wedding.) The books turned out pretty well, and just before I ordered them, I found a coupon for 25% off which is a nice help!

My father called last night to say that my mother was in a great deal of pain, and that the pain meds didn't seem to be working. He complained to the nurses, my mother complained to the nurses, they even asked for the doctor who didn't come. The first thing I thought of was that the infuser pump wasn't working. I talked with my mother this morning, and sure enough around 9 p.m., she'd made enough of a stink to get someone to check the infusion pump and it was not on. I feel so bad for my mother who had no pain meds for nearly 10 hours after her knee surgery; but it also points out that People. Don't. Listen.

My mother sounded tired, but feisty this morning, so that's good. I think my sister and my SIL will rotate a few days next week when she comes home.

Tonight I'm making pasta with chicken sausages, and going out with my neighborfriend to a sale at the craft store.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!