Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:57 a.m. - 2008-11-28
Not black, actually kind of a pretty Friday dawn

Happy, happy Friday Dance. Yes, we got up for the Black Friday sales, although there was nothing we were desperate for this year. I ended up going to the W store even though I don't ever go there any more. I went for bed sheets, jeans for Andy and maybe a flat screen. We didn't leave until just before 5 a.m., and the store opened at 5. When we got there, the lot was full (no surprise) and the line had been moving into the store for about 14 minutes, and still the line went all the way around the outside the store in almost a complete circle. But we made it in, and they had everything we came for except for the bedsheets. We even got the teevee, which I may or may not keep, but I was surprised at how many they still had! The crowds were sort of politish.

Thanksgiving was very nice. We cleaned some (we're having company tonight); I made the turkey and the gravy and a chanterelle sauce with leftover mushrooms I had. We also brought pumpkin pie, cheesecake bites, a chocolate pie and made some apple dumplings. We had a nice visit with the in laws and were charmed by our niece who danced and danced with all of her 20-month old passion for songs about trains.

Everyone was in a good mood, and the in-laws sent us home with most of our Christmas presents. Spouse helped me put out some Christmas decorations and we did the switch over to my Christmas china. We even put up a little, tacky silver tree.

Today is recovery from getting up at 4:30 a.m., some grocery shopping, some cleaning and then company tonight. We're babysitting my niece and nephew while my brother and SIL go out to dinner with a gift certificate we got them for Christmas two years ago.

Hope you had a fabulous Thanksgiving.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!