Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:54 a.m. - 2008-10-20
Maybe medication is in order

There are two things I noticed this weekend:

1. The sound of the wind has been changing. It is much more crackly now - there are leaves blowing about.

2. I am becoming a bitter, negative person. What the hell?

I did NOT get to take a half day of work on Friday, it just got too busy, and my co-worker is sick. I was able to leave about a half-hour early, so that was good. Picked up Andy, fed him a sub, made sure he was packed up, drove him to the caravan site (It still wasn't clear whom he was driving with and with whom he was sharing a tent.) The caravan left about a half-hour later than it was scheduled. I came home, chatted with spouse and got my cropping stuff ready and left. I cropped until about 10, then came home and fell asleep around 11. Saturday morning we set the alarm and were up and out early to meet the neighbors for breakfast, then I did more cropping until about 2, and headed home to finish laundry and cleaning, but first I treated myself to a half-hour nap. Spouse and I did some chores, gassed up a car, had a quick dinner (I had meatloaf and onion soup, spouse had a bowl of chili and a pasta dish.) Made a run to the warehouse store - we were in DIRE NEED of paper towels and toilet paper - TMI? Came home, did more laundry and crashed.

Sunday morning I did the church thing, read the papers and waited for Andy - He came home smelling of wood smoke but he had a great time. I made chocolate croissants for him, and then he and spouse picked up some groceries. Yesterday I made chicken stock with all the bones and veggies I had been saving; also made four batches of meat balls (one for tonight's dinner of pasta; one for the freezer; and two batches of soup meatballs for escarole soup.) For dinner we had pork chops with a peach glaze, rice and broccoli.

So the guestroom is done, beds are made, air matresses have been found. Tomorrow I'm making a potroast for my folks; Wednesday I'll make subs because I don't know when my sister and her kids will get here after they rent a car at the airport; and I haven't gotten as far as Thursday.

My future SIL wants to have a tea party and pumpkin carving on Saturday afternoon while the men are at the bachelor party "with no nekkid women."

This is why I feel like I am so negative, because we have the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner Friday, then are heading down to the time shares on the Cape of Cod. Saturday we were just going to hang out because Sunday morning, we have to be back in Plymouth at 8 for hair, make-up, etc. and then drive 45 minutes to the church for the wedding at 2, then do pics, then the reception is at 5:30.

So Saturday we have to drive up an hour to the bride's family's house from the Cape, carve pumpkins for an hour, drive back to the cape and manage the kids. Am I being bitter and negative? Why can't I be happier about all the family time? Why can't I just enjoy the weekend of events?

This week and next are crazy work-wise. We have two big events and are expecting big media participation.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!