Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:30 a.m. - 2008-10-14
I don't need to know any more

Because I don't pile on enough things to stress out about, my future SIL called to say that she and my bro had a huge fight on the phone and nasty things were said, and my brother now questions whether they should be getting married. They are forty-five effin years old and should be over this. They have known each other for at least a decade. The wedding is in less than two weeks. But my friend asked me not to tell anyone, and so I won't, until she calls my mother for support. She has been away from my brother for a week (she got cheap tickets to fly up to take care of wedding details) and will fly back home tonight. I don't really want the details, I just want this to be over.

Andy and spouse are at the orthopedist/hand doctor. The appointment was for 10, and spouse took him in, but now it is after 11:30, and there is no word from them. Spouse's phone is turned off, so I'm sure the doctor was just running late and we'll hear soon. The plan is for me to meet them half way and bring Andy back to school. Spouse has to teach a class this afternoon. This is the last week before exams at his school ( they have two terms rather than one semester.)

So yesterday I used the leftover bruschetta topping I made for the block party and made it into a sauce for pasta and that's what we had for dinner along with some asparagus that I steamed in the microwave and melted a little butter, garlic and anchovy and poured that on the asparagus. Very yummy. Today is leftover escarole soup and asiago bread.

Can I just say that the leaves on the maple tree outside my window (looks like the tree is at least 90 feet tall and a hundred years old) is so bright I can't look at it for very long. It is a beautiful peachy melon color - almost irridescent.

Yesterday I finished the batch of bills, sent out wedding gifts, birthday cards and a survey, cleaned up the dining room table - YAY! and got rid of a trashbag full of paper that we no longer need. Andy worked on his bedroom a bit and also got rid of stuff.

I am cropping this weekend. I really should be cleaning, but I'll just make myself feel guilty wherever I am!

We're going through budget cuts again even though we were sitting pretty for about 17 minutes. I'm sure I'll get more info when I meet with my boss at 2.

Thanks for all your emails and notes of support. I'm sure this will be a happy, happy few weeks and everything will be good. And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!