Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:29 a.m. - 2008-10-01
You never know where you're going until you get there

First for Lisa (I can't post on your journal) I do "Dream Dinners" (www.dreamdinners.com) about once a month. You order the meals you want to make before you go and choose from a menu of about 20-25 options. When you get there, everything is set up at different stations - all the herbs/spices, all the veggies chopped or prepped, pre-measured meat, etc. You just measure, assemble the ingredients, put them in zip loc bags, label and freeze. It is very convenient, and it takes me about 45 minutes to assemble 7 or 8 dinners. I had my doubts, because I like to cook and thought it was kind of "sissy" to have someone set it up, but we've really enjoyed the meals, and I feel pretty virtuous after doing the session. I can also prepare a few meals for my in-laws or neighbors who are going through a rough patch, and have everything for them. There are franchises of dream dinners all over the place, and I believe there are one or two other similar kinds of places, though I don't know the names. Good luck with your renovation!

And now with our regularly scheduled entry: Yesterday didn't turn out as I expected it would: First, I got a call from Andy. There WAS NO AFTER SCHOOL PROGRAM for sixth and seventh graders, so he was stranded. There WAS a program for everyone else, but since middle school gets out an hour earlier than the elementary school, they didn't want to pay an extra hour of staff for just two kids, so Andy called (I was in the middle of presenting to a class) and I dropped everything and got him. I love that the school schedules a professional development day, but makes no accomodation or rather takes away services for working parents. Andy was a good sport. I couldn't work at home yesterday (I'm working at home today because the school is closed for the Jewish holiday) because we had the big presentation of the summer reading author and his photo journalist, so Andy came back with me, we ate in the dining hall with the author and the photo journalist, set up for the presentation, and then I was able to head home around 3:30. The presentation was very moving. I think we forget that this wasn't just the devastation of a city, it was individual people losing loved-ones, losing their homes, believing they were going to die. It was just so sad, and what is worse is that politics has prevented a real and concerted effort to bring people back home and rebuild. The touristy parts of New Orleans seem to be okay, but the neighborhoods are still in bad shape. Three years later.

What will happen with Galveston?

Last night Andy and I were too full to eat dinner and spouse hadn't eaten his leftover chicken parm lunch, so he had that and I fell asleep. Then he and Andy went to boy scouts and I continued to sleep. I think I am tired.

Today Andy and I are home - I am working (I have to do alot of website work today) And it is only one more day until "Pushing Daisies" YAY!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!