Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:39 a.m. - 2008-09-19
Pie


FEEEEEERIDAY! YAY! It is cool and crisp, and apple season. Yesterday was kind of a waste, but I enjoyed hanging out with my colleague. But it was kind of a desperate little conference. It was designed for women who have to go back to work, so the audience was equally divided between women who were stay at home moms who are now divorced and have to work; and women who are feeling an economic pinch and now have to work.

There was not a tone of empowerment, just desperation, like these women NEVER were prepared to work, which maybe in the 1960s, but really?

I don't mean to judge, I just thought that pretty much everyone at least tried to learn a little bit about working, and I don't mean to say that raising children and maintaing a household is not work, nor fulfilling work, nor worthy work. I just mean that I am surprised at how many women at this conference thought they'd ever have to work once they married.

The event was held at a conference center affiliated with the stadium of the New 3ngland P@triots, and the room overlooked the field, so we saw them doing their run throughs. (Yes! I know what that is!) And I saw the three or four players whose names and faces I recognize.

And what else - non-stop meetings from 9 until 3 today. Ugh.

I think we're going out for pizza tonight, then tomorrow is a day of D&O - sax lessons, tux fitting, in-law visit. Sunday I have to work.

But today it is crisp and cool, and maybe I will bake an apple pie.

Yum. Pie.

Happy, happy Friday Dance!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!