Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:04 a.m. - 2008-09-02
Four days?

What? I didn't update on Friday or Monday? I can't even remember that far back. Let's see...Oh yah, took Andy for a second orthodontist opinion - here is his opinion $6,700. Three years, appliances, maybe headgear, braces, maybe tooth pulling. Ugh.

Thursday night was the tupperware party. My friend is starting out and asked me to host a party. I had more than a dozen neighbors/friends, two outside orders and four people who couldn't come but were going to order later. I put out wine, cheese, fruit, crackers and my mother made home made chocolate cupcakes. We had coffee and soda and everyone had a good time. Except I think, the consultant who was miffed that she didn't get confirmed parties, just $600 worth of sales. There were specials and she pushed that. She demonstrated a salsa that was decent. She told us we could order from two different books and gave us a specials sheet. We were going to turn in the orders on Monday night.

Friday rolls around - I took Friday off so I could do prep for my brother/future SIL. I took Andy and the carpool neighbors to school, came home, picked up groceries, went to breakfast with my parents, got more groceries, prepared all the stuff for the shower, found cards, wrapped gifts, gassed up the car, etc. We drove to the shower around 5:30 worried we would hit friday night/rush hour/long-weekend traffic. It wasn't so bad! Got to the shower, unloaded, mingled, took pics, saw that the shower was less about the bride and more about the folks who organized it.

Here are things that I liked about the shower:

1. The bride had a decent time.
2. I met the bride's cousin - a boy about Andy's age who was a real sweetie.
3. The bride loved our gift.

Here are things I didn't like about the shower:

1. It was all about the bride's sister and her friend and how hard they worked to put together the shower.
2. Alot of people didn't think about the bride having to ship gifts back to Florida where they live, so there are many giant glass vases that have to be packaged and transported.
3. My SIL ranted at the bride for at least 10 minutes about the fact that my niece (SIL's daughter who is a junior bridesmaid in the wedding) has to have her hair done on the morning of the wedding because the wants to wear: a) a tiara, and b) a hair piece.
And so the time frame isn't working out for her. I stayed out of it until I saw the bride start to tear up, and I came over and tried to defuse the situation. I made a joke about how my friend was only the bride that day. I have a feeling my SIL is annoyed with me.

Have I mentioned that my niece is 10? Have I mentioned that I think we should be saying a big fat NO!?

So.

Then I got a phone call from tupperware friend in the middle of the shower festivities. She announced that she had to put the order in by 11:59 that night and I had to get all my outside orders and my order put together and call her that night and give her the info. Oh.

There was no mention that she might have made a mistake by not saying that the night before because if I didn't get my orders in, several people would not get the special items they ordered, nor would they get the special pricing on other things. Oh.

No "Sorry for inconveniencing you." or "I made a mistake."

Things wrapped up about 9:30 is, and we headed home around 10 for the drive back. We got home around 11:30. I called the tupperware friend and gave her what I had, but there was no way I was calling people after 10 p.m. to get their orders. Ugh.

Saturday Andy and I were up early and off to saxophone lessons. We picked up some more groceries, and then took everyone to lunch at a place nearby that has fried clams. My brother, future SIL and her family were having another party on the beach Saturday night and we loaned my parents a car so they could go out and stay overnight at the party. Andy was invited, then uninvited, which worked out fine. We all just hung out Saturday night, changed all the bed linens, did the laundry and cleaned up the house a bit since we were getting more company on Sunday. We were all pretty full from lunch, so I didn't worry too much about dinner.

Sunday around noon, my parents came back and we went to the craft store so my Mom could look at knitting stuff. We watched Andy's friend while his parents went to check out a hospice facility for the friend's grandmother. Andy and his friend had a great time, playing outside, riding bikes, playing Wii and making a video. I love to hear them giggle and laugh. Our afternoon company arrived around 4 ish and I made dinner (carnitas, guacamole, pico de gallo, salad and roasted corn) for everyone. Can't remember what else we did Sunday night, only that I was sleepy and turned in around 10 p.m. Andy played with another friend down the street until it got dark.

Monday morning we all went out to breakfast, however the rest of the world had the same idea, so we had to wait for 45 minutes to get a table. Then we did more grocery shopping, hung out and got a surprise call from the school district announcing that Andy would not have school today (Tuesday.) Apparently a pipe burst, so he has an extra day off. My neighborfriend asked if we could watch her daughter too, so my folks are babysitting.

We grilled outside - burgers, tube-steaks and sausages. I had nice tomatoes with basil, roasted vegetables, potato salad (bought), baked beans (canned) and I made a summer fruit cobbler for dessert. We hung out and talked, discussed the hurricane and the Veep candidate. (I'm still thinking that the other party thought - "Oh, they won't get to vote for a woman in their party, so we'll just substitute another and we'll get all female votes" thinking that it was an equal swap. Um. No. I did not love Hilary, but I believe in some of the things she stood for. I do not believe in abortion, so I personally would never have one, but I do not believe that the government has the right to make that decision for me or any other woman.

Off soapbox now.

So today we're back to work. My folks and Andy are hanging out. My aunt and uncle are hanging out with them, and for now that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!