Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:08 a.m. - 2008-08-05
What really happened

So yesterday's entry was all about me, me, me and what I did, when I should have been writing about all the cool things Andy did during his week at camp.

1. Grew up a bit. He definitely seems more confident.

2. Paddled a canoe all by himself.

3. Learned how to make a proper campfire.

4. Won the Camp Spirit award (a badge he gets to wear on his uniform) for making up "The Waffle Song" that then became the theme song for the camp that week.

5. Was appointed "Skit Master" of the troop - a great feat for a sixth grader competing amongst juniors and seniors in high school.

6. Collected at least 37 bug bites on his legs.

7. Ate cereal. And LIKED it. (He NEVER does! He'd rather have pasta for breakfast.)

8. Wrote a letter home telling us about the bear scat they saw on a hike, and the boy (one of my former cub scouts) who sliced open his hand with a knife that was too big or him to use, and the boys who were sent home the second night for selling and smoking cigars and then lying about it.

9. Learned how to play poker from the older kids.

10. Decided he stil likes to cuddle with his parents.

Yesterday spouse took my suggestion and shaved off the side parts of his beard so that he has more of a goatee. He had always meticulously trimmed his beard - it wasn't a mountain man kind of thing, but I thought it might look more updated if he tried shaving the sides. He LOVED it - Andy doesn't like it so much (he hates anything changing.) So spouse took pics of himself with his phone and emailed me yesterday afternoon. He was so enamoured of his new look, he tried on his suits and sport coats to see how cool he'll look when the semester starts. I'm glad he's having fun.

I grilled fish in foil last night with tomatoes, onions and zucchini, and also made zucchini with fresh mint and some brown rice. Tonight we're having a Dream Dinner - "Southwestern Steaks" on the grill, and Mexican rice. Also tomatoes and zucchini again.

I have a six-hour meeting with our NY consultants. I like them, but it eats a hole in my day. Also, I'm doing more web stiff this afternoon and writing a planned giving brochure.

I fell asleep for an hour after dinner, and spouse cleaned up. That was nice. Usually one cooks, the other cleans. Today, they are both going to clean and put away all the camping stuff, and then spouse is taking Andy to get new shoes.

New shoes always mean school is about to start!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!