Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:50 a.m. - 2008-07-28
Rending

I can't believe it is Monday already! Friday night spouse and I went to Andy's camp concert. The music part was really good. The dancing part not so much. But at the end of the concert, all of the camp kids made a huge conga line and danced around gymnasium. I would have felt self-conscious; I KNOW spouse would never have joined the line, but there was Andy, rushing right in to join and having fun. It was one of my best mother moments, seeing him beaming, seeing him feel so happy and part of the group, and WANTING to dance. After the concert we drove home and stopped at a new (to us) ice cream shack and had cones. We came home, Andy was invited to the neighbor's bonfire, and then we all went to sleep.

On Saturday, we decided to skip the John Adams House. Andy's friend who was supposed to join us ended up going to New Hampshire; and another friend who was invited decided it was too much like school for him, so we ended up getting the last few things and getting Andy ready for camp. First we had brunch with a neighbor and her daughter, then ran some other errands. While I took Andy to his Sax lesson, spouse mailed off the care package to Andy at camp. Our other neighborfriends were instrumental in advisign us as to what Andy would need to pack for camp and lent us their mosquito netting. SAturday night we got a pizza and crashed.

Sunday morning we finished packing, loaded the car (actually, we let Andy do his packing, so it will be interesting to see how he fares...) and met up with the troop to caravan about two hours to the scout reservation. It was a pretty drive, and Andy's camp is not far from where I grew up. There was much disorganization, no one knew where to go or what to do or whether we had to bring the trunks into the site, blah, blah, blah. After an hour of chaos, we finally got some information, moved all the equipment into the designated site and headed to the orientation and med check. After that, Andy was to have his swimming test. He was all worried because he heard that you had to have three different strokes, and he only knew two. I told him they weren't judging on form, just on the fact that he could swim. I reminded him to roll on his back if he was worried and remind himself that he could float.

He started to get a little nervous as we left, but he didn't even look back as we pulled out of the parking area, so I am hopeful my little boy will be fine, fine, fine. There are no phones, and the kids are not allowed to have cell phones, but our neighborfriend said I could check in. I'm going to wait until Tuesday. As we left the reservation, a huge thunderstorm was rolling in, so I hope everything is okay. We met our friends for dinner and had a nice visit, but it took us three times as long to get home because of all the traffic on the pike. Not that we had to rush home for anything.

The roofers are nearly finished. They started about 7:15 this morning with the last of the gutter work, so we'll likely be getting the rest of the bill today or tomorrow. And still, no more mice, but we do have a big dumpster in our driveway. Let's see, what can I fill it with????

Crazy work week, but that's nothing new. Spouse will head to camp on Thursday and work there for a couple of days. Then he and Andy will be home on Saturday, no later than 1. YAY!!!! I miss my boy so much, but I was good and didn't cry until we got on the highway. He is going to come home a different boy, all grown-up with even more confidence!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!