Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:04 a.m. - 2008-07-22
Hangover of sorts

There is no etiquette nor guidelines for the time after a fight is there? I usually just suck it up and move on, though I'm sure I give off a chilly vibe. Spouse usually gets all meepy and subserviant which makes me even crazier, and then things get busy and I forget to wake up bruised and hurt, and we just move on.

Spouse brought some penitential iced tea to me just as I was getting out of a hot meeting on campus, then I came home and found that he had pushed steel wool into all the holes around the kitchen plumbing and set mouse traps. Did I already write that Andy saw a mouse dart under the stove yesterday morning? We live in the woods, but really people. I do not choose to share my space with living creatures who were not invited. So spouse spent a good deal of time cleaning out everything under the sink and filling the holes; then he worked on the pantry. After living in Florida, I am usually in the habit of putting pantry staples in containers, but the little packets of cocoa and maybe a bag or two of dough mix not so much, and so that is what the mousies have been dining on. We cleaned everything out, but I think I'm going to have to make a trek and buy some more plastic bin-like things.

I cleaned off my dining room table. I say that alot don't I? In fact, if we didn't have company, I'd probably never see it again, so it is done, and I am trying to make a concerted effort to keep it paper free for at least a month. Maybe if I had my own desk??? Maybe if I had less stuff???

Andy was invited to go see a movie with the neighbors, so spouse and I used the time to put away pantry stuff. I sent out some birthday cards and should have paid the bills, but that will be tonight's project.

Tonight's menu is turkey medallions with a sun-dried tomato rub (I'll do those on the grill); corn salad, green salad and caponata. I have cherries for dessert.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!