Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:38 p.m. - 2008-07-14
The weekend
Since last Thursday? We had a nice visit in Flora Dora. We took my folks out Thursday night to one of my favorite restaurants (both my brothers used to work there) it is mainly a steak place with a great salad bar. The manager remembered us and gave us free desserts! Came home, finished packing and fell asleep, although I ate too much to sleep very well (I had steak and baked stuffed shrimp, with a great baked potato and a salad.) We left my folks with lots of doggie bags.

Friday morning we were ready to go - I hadn't heard from 0rbitz, but I thought I'd check the flight just in case - DELAYED THREE HOURS! So we hung out, my Mom sent my Dad to get some of my favorite southern tea (for iced tea - Luzianne) and I played cards with my mother while we waited. Neither 0rbitz nor the airline agreed exactly on when the flight was leaving, nor did I actually speak to people who knew what was going on. If one said the flith was delayed, then the other said it was on time, and they flip flopped for at least two hours. So we just left for the airport after we called our various neighbors to let them know we'd be late (one had to return our keys so we could get in; the other was expecting to give us their keys as they were leaving on their vacation.) Anyway, the flight finally took off three hours late, which meant we would get into the big city in the midst of rush hour when we landed. The flight was okay, although we seem to get seated in between loud, unwell children. I read a chunk of the last Harry Potter book on the flight; spouse had a glass of wine and Andy was amused with his latest manga purchases. We were picked up in an obscenely large white limo right out of an 80s hair series and the AC didn't work, so we rolled down as many windows as we could. Got home, dumped the suitcases (it was too late to pick up our piggie) and went to dinner at our favorite Mexican restaurant. Came home, started laundry and fell asleep. I was up early, but Andy slept until 10. We got up to get Patches - he is fine and healing, though he lost a little weight (my guess is that the vet where we boarded the pig does not obsessively fill his hay rack like we do!) The piggie still has a nekked behind, but the fur is growing back, and I think he was glad to see us. He is a little slower and quieter, though there are signs that he is on the mend. Spouse had him checked by his regular vet today, and he was pronounced thinner, but fine. Which is good for us because we are many hundreds of dollars poorer because of the surgery.

And what else? Yesterday was our 17th wedding anniversary, and we were supposed to go to a new restaurant, but I wasn't particularly into either the food part of it nor the driving part of it (about a half-hour away) so we used a gift card for a local restaurant and ate there. It was okay, but I was glad to get back home.

Andy started his music/arts/sports camp today and spouse drove him to the "orientation" at 7:30. I went into work early to dig out of my email and voice mail - 343 email messages; only 7 phone messages. Not too bad. We had a new student orientation today so it made it especially crazy!

Tonight we're having pork carnitas with whole wheat tortillas and a home-made salsa (I made it last night.) Our laundry is caught up.

Can't wait to hear what Andy thinks of his new camp!

Who read 156 pages of me this weekend?

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!