Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:05 a.m. - 2008-06-30
Some fun, some angst, some sadness.

A full, full weekend. Friday was a crazy work day. Do I ever NOT say that? Then we were all invited to the local Mexican place in the center of town for drinks and snacks as a thank you for working so hard last week with the student orientations. It was cramped, but fun. I brought over our summer intern.

Then I came home, helped spouse pack up the car, and the neighbors all headed over to the drive in. We saw "Wall-E" which was a delight. And even though I thought only three families were coming, more than 7 families showed up. We had a great time, everyone enjoyed visiting, the kids were playing ball and chatting. Andy was the oldest one, but he enjoyed being the "mature" kid and helping with the younger ones. Spouse and I were too tired to see the second feature at 10:30 which was "Get Smart" and even though I really wanted to see it, I knew I wouldn't be able to stay awake. Another family asked if Andy could stay with them, so we ended up taking one family home with us, and I waited up until Andy came home around 1:45 a.m. He had a blast.

Saturday morning, we were up early again, and when I went to get the paper, I saw that the baby robins had hatched. I don't know how many eggs there were, but there are at least two babies, and they were crying for food at 6:30 a.m., so I woke Andy up to see them, and tried to take a picture. The mother was really scolding us, so we went back in, Andy snoozed some more and I made breakfast. Then spouse dropped me off at the dream dinners place and took Andy to sax lessons. I finished up making 8 meals just as spouse and Andy pulled in. Spent the rest of the afternoon cleaning and doing the festival of laundry; and then at 7, Andy and I went to church so we could sleep in on Sunday morning. I made pork carnitas for dinner and they were yummy. I made pico de gallo and guacamole to go with them - oh. Yum.

Saturday night we watched Harry Potter/Phoenix movie; and then crashed. Sunday, more cleaning, newspapers, observing the baby birds and Andy and I went through his toy bins and got rid of alot of stuff - some to trash, some to give-away. That inspired me to go through the baskets and bowls in the kitchen - you know, the ones that collect old keys and packets of sugar and old prescription bottles. I went through the three in the kitchen and they are GONE! GONE! GONE! I feel quite virtuous. Spouse got the suitcases out of the attic and we can start packing. Last night we had chicken enchiladas and raspberry pie for dinner. We are eating out of the freezer until we go to Florida on Friday, and again when we get back. I did a quick inventory of what I have in there, and I'm embarassed to say I found two frozen steaks from 1996. They are older than ANDY!

Our other tribulation was that yesterday morning I noticed that our piggie was bleeding a bit. He has had a cyst on his hind quarter since last year, and we had the vet check it then when we first noticed it. She said it was fine, but yesterday, it was bleeding and full of pus. Sorry.

We cleaned him up, I even trimmed his nails a bit, and he seems perfectly fine. There was no vet on call so I've got a call into her this morning. The piggie seems unchanged and certainly not in pain, but I'm afraid because we are going away, that I want to have him checked out.

And finally, our saddest news. Our friend who was suffering from Creutzfeld Jacob disease died last week. I got the email this morning, and we are praying for her family.

So I am praying. And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!