Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:04 a.m. - 2008-06-09
Bacon and Eggs
It is sweating weather. Friday night, spouse, Andy and I went out and BOUGHT a pizza - we had crappy service and spouse took it personally, and it got on my nerve. Just one, that's all I have left. Then we came home and read books and goofed around and went to sleep. Saturday morning was a bit sticky and sunny - Andy and I went to his sax lesson - he's really doing well. I hung out with the teacher's wife and I enjoy it very much. Then we came home, picked up spouse and had breakfast/lunch with our neighbors at Cr@cker B@rrel. I did laundry, some cleaning and then church, and we took Andy to his birthday party/sleepover. It was reqlly roaring hot by then. Fortunately, he was sleeping in the finished basement which was pretty cool; our house was very cool and comfortable until about 8:30 p.m., so we put on fans and that worked. Sunday morning I showered and went to pick up Andy - once again, roaring hot. He said he didn't sleep more than five minutes, and looked pretty bedraggled. I made him shower and rest for a bit, then he got all his things ready for school and had the rest of the afternoon to himself. We drove to the in-laws, gave them anniversary and early father's day gifts and took them to dinner. Andy ate a lobster. I had clams on the half-shell, and a salad with five perfectly grilled shrimp. Spouse had soft-shelled crabs, clams on the half-shell and the rest of MIL's risotto with shrimp and chorizo.

We did a few errands for the in-laws, then came home and decided it was time to put on the air conditioner. Ahhhh.

Two things I keep forgetting to write about: The first is the name of a street near Andy's sax teacher's house: Bacon Slip. How cool is that?

The second is that Saturday morning I went to get the paper about 6 :30 a.m. and noticed a big pile of grass and leaves at the top of our steps. I looked up to see that something had wedged grass in the space between our porchlight and the house. I also saw a paper towel in the shrubs below. My tiny, tiny brain figured out that a bird's nest was on its way in or on its way out. When I went to show Andy about an hour later, the paper towel was on top of the porch light. When we went to sax lessons, it was out again, but there seemed to be a bit more grass - nothing organized, just more of it. Saturday night, it didn't look like anything was happening, but last night it was definitely a nest - two colors, very light brown on the bottom, dark grey, almost black on the top. This means two things: One - we will get to see some eggs and baby birds soon! Two: we can't use our front porch light - not a big deal for us since we come in and out through the garage, but if we have company at night, we'll have to warn them. Cool huh?

And for now, except for alot of heat and humidity - that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!