Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:27 a.m. - 2008-05-21
Where is supernanny tonight?

I learned a new word yesterday: Cyberchondriac - someone who looks up medical maladies on line all the time. Hmmmm.

Lessee - whats new? Worked on a big pile o'stuff yesterday, then went to Andy's honor band concert. It was not great. It is not that I expect these kids to be virtuosi or anything, I just expect that they might be excited about the music and not just honk, honk, honk about it.

The entire concert lasted about 9 minutes. I am hopeful that in middle school, Andy will have a more rewarding experience.

Spouse and Andy went out for Chinese food after, I had to work last night and go to a dinner honoring the top 10% of the high school classes at about a dozen schools. It was pleasant enough, I met some nice people (we were at the sponsors table) and it was an interesting exercize to see where the top 10% of students at each school/town were going to college. Out of about 150 kids, There were two HAHvahds, one Yale, four NYUs, one Air Force Academy, one Naval Academy, one UCLA, one Connecticut College (go Camels...), ten WPIs, two MITs, two RPIs, one Wellesley, and the rest were UMass, BC, BU or Northeasterns. Oh - and one kid was going to work at a woodworking shop, and another girl was going to cosmetology school.

An interesting slice of life.

Once again, I am completely surrounded by leaves in my third floor office - it is a little tree-nest of sorts.

Today I am having lunch with one of my neighborfriends and possibly spouse, and possibly my co-worker. My neighborfriend is working an evening shift this week, so we are taking advantage of her waking hours to get together.

And what else?

I was going to get up early and go to the N0rdstrom's sale today - the store opened at 7 a.m., but I decided last night that a) I don't need a thing and b) I don't have any money for that kind of purchase.

We got an email yesterday that says that summer is kinda casual (including shorts - not that I'd ever share my thighs with anyone else...) but it means I can relax a bit on the work-wear.

I am also deacquisitioning a big pile of clothes this weekend - I took Friday off, and I am planning on spending a few hours in my bedroom and sorting through clothes that I can get rid of; and also put away the winter stuff and get out the summer stuff.

Did I write that I met a former co-worker for breakfast yesterday? We had the same crazy, crazy boss. But now, this co-worker is no longer at that job and thinking of filing a lawsuit and initiating an investigation with the state's attorney general's office regarding their use of state funds. Hmmmm.

I think that's all I got for now.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!