Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:31 a.m. - 2008-05-12
skabaddlydoot so skabaddlydoot

As Andy now says constantly, in a funny wraspy voice: Skabaddlydoot, so skabaddlydoot. It just seems fitting.

Saturday - madhouse, emotional, fun, fabulous - my first commencement at this job, and I have to say I was moved to tears when everyone - and I mean EVERYONE - kitchen workers, groundskeepers, maintenance staff - all lines up along the sidewalk to applaud the graduates as they process towards the tent where graduation is held.

Our college is pretty much designed for kids who either blew their chance, or didn't get the help they needed in high school to get into a four-year college. So they come here, get some intensive tutoring, mentoring, and confidence building (and not the "self-esteemy is everything" kind of confidence building, more like the "I really do have it in me to overcome this" kind of confidence building) and after two years, they get an associate degree and go to a four-year school. Except for the dancers and the entertainment management majors who stay for four years and get a bachelor degree, because we offer BAs in those two fields.

So I worked Friday night at the awards ceremony, and then all day Saturday at commencement, which was quite lovely and emotional. Everyone liked my speeches even if they didn't know I wrote them (they laughed at the right places, and applauded at the right places and wept and cheered at the end.)

Things weren't quite wrapped up but I left at 4 and made it to church (Andy met me there) so I could sleep in Sunday morning. Then we came home, I made salsa and guacamole for Saturday night's festivities and got a couple of loads of wash in and done. We walked to our neighbor's house for grown-up's night and had a nice night - there were two extra couples whom we hadn't seen in over a year. Andy had opted to babysit himself, which was fine since we were only 60 feet away. But then all the kids went out to play in the night and he joined them and we ended up putting him to bed around 11:30, so he didn't really stay by himself after all. Sunday morning I was the first one up, and then Andy awoke and then spouse. I was glad they slept in. I was treated to a garlic bagel with cream cheese, lox, onions and capers - oh. my. very delish. Spouse also got me fresh black berries. Andy got me a cartoon book of the comic strip Zits, a hand-made card and a little letter they made at school telling us all of his favorite things about his mommy. Awwww. Spouse got me a really cool pen, a book on living in a cubicle, a bunch of purple tulips, a vibrating neck massager and he did the screens and the air vents on the first floor. Ahhhh. Yesterday was pretty low-key which was WONDERFUL! I spoke with all of my siblings and my parents, finished up the laundry, got my father his American flag that he requested, started packing, got dinner ready for today, and picked up some prescriptions. Spouse did the grocery shopping and grilled steaks for dinner. Very yummy - we had steaks, baked potatoes, mushrooms/onions with a little truffle oil, and salad. And we had lemon sorbet for dessert. I was a happy camper. I paid the bills, mailed out some cards and ironed. Tonight I just have to finish packing and clean off the dining room table. Again.

My niece (the one who is making her first communion) has been sick for the last several days - very high fevers and congestion. I hope she is better soon! Also, there are wildfires in my sister's part of the world. Oi.

Tomorrow morning I fly off around 6 a.m., and arrive in Flora Dora around 2 p.m. I'll hang out with my folks for a couple of days, then we drive to my sister's on Thursday and the communion is on Saturday. Then Sunday, I fly out again at 6 a.m., and should be back home around noonish. YAY!

I'll post when I can. Also, I did not really care about the texas wedding.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!