Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:44 a.m. - 2008-05-05
In which I complain a bit

I know these next two weeks are going to be crazy. We have commencement at work, and that is already crazy. And then I have a day before I head out to Florida, which will also be crazy. I'll pick up my folks, we'll drive the three hours to my sisters house (pity me, I'm sleeping on a couch for three days and I am old) and then I fly home at something like 6 a.m. on that Sunday. I'm hopeful the following week won't be so bad. And I can breathe. Except then I have to get to work populating the website. AAUGH.

We found out over the weekend that the father of one of the families that lived across the street from us when we were growing up had died. The son was like our third brother and was very close to my brothers. He would be at our house for days on end, and his mom would call and say "Just checking to make sure Tim was with you..." and we'd say yes, and eventually he'd go home for a few weeks across the street. Anyway, we'd known for nearly two years that Bart was dying - he'd been diagnosed with lung cancer, and was close to 90. But still.

Decent weekend: Sax lessons, laundry, visit with the inlaws to give MIL her Mother's Day Mulch. She gave me a cute purple tote bag and a miniature lawn with three pink flamingos for my desk. I LOVE it. She doesn't always give me mother's day gifts, so this was a nice surprise.

Sunday, Andy and I went to church at 7:30 (it was cold and rainy again) and then picked up spouse and had an enormous breakfast. I finished up the beds and laundry and made a turkey meatloaf and baked potatoes for dinner, and baked some asparagus with lemon, butter and grated parmesan. Very yummy. Then I ended up working for three hours finishing a speech and a biography for commencement, and posting a bunch of stuff on the town web.

This week: Two events tonight - one at 6 and one at 9:30 (we're cooking a "midnight breakfast" for the students who are taking finals this week.) tomorrow night - hair cut and color, and possible pedicure - aaaaah.
Wednesday, I'm taking our Sudanese student to speak at an event and get an award. Thursday - Andy's middle school open house - we'll see where he'll be going in August. Friday - Honors and Awards event on Campus and spouse also has to work, so we have to get a sitter. Saturday - commencement, saturday night, dinner with the grown-ups and I have to make something. Sunday - after church, I hope NOTHING except packing.

And for now, that's all I got. (except for some stress - I got that now too.)

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!