Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:09 a.m. - 2008-04-11
Happy, happy Friday Dance time
Andy was fine last night. His friend Stephen talked to him and they got along, but it is only a matter of time before Stephen gets in a mood and hurts Andy's feelings. Do I make Andy toughter? Do I tell him that people's slights and hurts don't really matter? How can I teach him a lesson I haven't figured out myself? We are way too sensitive. Then again, I want him to know that some things aren't acceptable, and he is allowed to make his voice heard in that relationship. It may be heard, or it may not, but he has to let his feelings be known. Right?

I had to work last night, so spouse took Andy to Karate. Andy got a notice about another belt test (He is a brown belt, and now has to earn three more stripes before he is a black belt.) His test is May 16. That is the weekend we are supposed to go to my niece's first communion. Everything in the world is happening in the three days before and the three days after that first communion. I'm thinking I'll just go by myself, but I know that my parents and sister's kids would love to see Unka spouse and Andy. What to do???

Last night 20 students presented their photos and reminiscences of their "Alternative Spring Break." They went to Louisiana and worked in the lower 9th ward on several projects. It was very moving, but frustrating to see how little progress appears to have been made since the hurricane struck. Students who went last year and again this year were livid at how little has been done.

But they were moved by what they saw there and several said it made them appreciate what they do have. Another group is organizing to go back down this summer.

Got home and helped Andy and spouse finish packing for the big camping weekend in the pouring rain. They'll be okay, right?

Oh - and here's the big news. I heard PEEPERS last night. It was such a beautiful day (about 73, sunny, breezy) and it was still warm about 8 p.m. when I came home, so I had the windows rolled down and pretended I had a convertible. As I drove past this little wetlands, I could hear the peepers. I was so inspired, I had spouse and Andy come for a little walk with me. It was a beautiful night. I always love how green and colorful things get in the spring time, I appreciate the smells of spring (except for whatever pollens I am allergic to...) but I REALLY like the sounds of spring. The morning is so much louder - birds, squirrels; and the evenings with the peepers (sounds like a 50s sit com.)

It is too early for crickets, but that should be coming soon too.

And of course, it is time for the happy, happy Friday dance. Tonight I have to work after I drop spouse and Andy off at the meeting point for the camping trip; but first I'll have dinner with my neighborfriend. Tomorrow morning, I'm going out to breakfast with my other neighborfriend, and then tomorrow night I'm cropping. That means tomorrow during the day is the festival of laundry, groceries, cleaning the house and paying the bills. Betcha you wish you were me, dontcha. Sunday I have to work again, but I'll make a nice Sunday dinner for the guys when they get back. So far I'm uninspired, but I'm thinking rosemary garlic roasted chicken and a big mess o'vegetables.

And once again - anyone but Romney.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!