Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:11 a.m. - 2008-04-08
Revolving and evolving
A big day of plow and presentations. I had asked last month to have some time at yesterday's faculty meeting to talk about the new web redesign. The admin forgot to put me on the agenda, but did remember to note in the agenda last month, that I would be on this month's schedule. So when I called to see where I would be on the agenda she said, "Oh. I forgot to look at my notes." I found out one of the faculty was not presenting his report, so I asked if I could have three minutes of his agenda time and it worked out. But really people!

Spouse and I had a little talk. I am feeling like his mother. When the tire blew out yesterday (a block from our house, thank heavens!) he just kind of shut down, expecting me to figure it all out. Which I did, because I had to get to work and he had to get to work. Then he didn't consider that maybe the blow out happened because something else broke down, so I came up with a "Plan B." (Plan Bs are my second best thing sometimes.) And then we had to consider where we would get new tires.
I just feel (again) like I am in charge of everything, and I own the part where I feel the need for control, but it would be nice to feel taken care of now and then, or at the very least, not responsible for everything.

This morning, I asked Andy to pick up his stuff on the couch (more birthday presents from other relatives.) I have one request (since Andy is 4) that he not leave all of his stuff on the couch when he is done, and it hasn't really stuck yet. So this morning when I asked him (AGAIN) to move his stuff, I got a little eye roll. I gave him the "mother" look and he apologized. And later, when I asked him to do something he complained that he already had taken care of "his" stuff, why should he have to move spouse's stuff, and I deployed the look again. "Do I just cook my dinner?" I asked. He got it. For now. I'm sure I'll have to bitch about something tonight. No wonder I love myself so much - I'm so much fun to be around.

Did I say that I grilled outside the other night? It was tasty, and I liked the idea that we were using the grill again. Although the state of the backyard is depressing.

Because we all got home at the same time, spouse and I made dinner - he nuked the salmon and I did the carrots and the asparagas. And then I prepped the veggies for today's chicken soup, and skimmed the fat and scum off the stock I made in the crockpot yesterday. Threw it all together this morning and we have soup for tonight. Yum.

Not much else to report on. I have a date with neighborfriend for Friday night dinner. Our spouses and sons are camping with the boy scouts this weekend, and her daughter has a sleepover birthday party. I may have to work a bit on Friday night because there is some student activity going on - and I have to work Sunday afternoon for the student awards and induction ceremonies.

No word from my parents who are somewhere in Japan.

And now I must go and light and heat the earth.

For now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!