Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:52 a.m. - 2008-04-07
Birthday recap
We had a great weekend! Spouse, Andy and I headed out to the wave-pool hotel late Friday afternoon. We stopped for dinner on the way at one of our favorite seafood places that soon to be SIL told us about a few years ago, then made it to the hotel and "explored." Sunday morning, Andy wanted to get up early and open his presents, but he was nice enough to wait until 7. He loved all the things we got him which were mostly related to his new obsession with "Naruto" a Japanese anime character and a cartoon series. Lots of good vs. evil stuff with alot of overcoming challenges thrown in.

Anyway, after Andy opened his gifts, we got a quick breakfast, then he and I headed to the wave pool for a few hours while spouse graded his exams. We stayed in the pool until it closed mid-morning for its daily cleaning. Two amusing things happened: First, Andy made friends with three boys almost immediately - I was glad to see how social he is (unlike spouse was/is, and unlike I can be sometimes.) And then, these two girls began to circle in - they appeared to be about the same age, maybe a little bit older (11 or 12?) And they moved closer and closer to the pod of boys and eventually circled in on Andy (the other boy just wanted to swim in the waves.) I could see Andy talking with them for a bit, and then it was time to leave. He told me they asked what room he was in just before we left the pool, and dontcha know, when we got back to the room, the phone rang - I didn't even think anything of it and picked it up to answer, and there was silence, then two giggles, then click.

Andy was a little unnerved, but in a good way. And we didn't speak of the incident again until later in the evening. We went out in the afternoon to look for more Naruto collectibles at a store in the center of Hyannis, and then had a great sushi lunch at a Japanese restaurant Andy had found. When we got back, Andy wanted to do more "exploring." I think he wanted to see if the girls were still there, though he said they told him they were leaving that day. His final comment of the evening: "Gee Momma - puberty just came in with a thunk." I'm still laughing about it.

It was such a juxtaposition - he wanted to wear his new Naruto headbands and wrist bands, but then he was self conscious at the same time in case the girls were there, or not there. Oh. My.

Saturday night we hung out, Andy played with his new stuff and read his new books; we had a light dinner. (I had soup and ice cream YAY!) and then watched junky movies on television. Neither spouse nor I slept well Friday night because there was something wrong with the air/heat unit and the room was really hot and moist. They maintenance staff came and replaced the unit, but there was several inches of water in the bottom. Who KNOWS what kind of mold we were breathing. Sunday morning, Andy and I headed back to the pool and spouse finished his grading. Then we had breakfast and checked out. Came home, did some laundry and cleaning and I made a tasty dinner from some of the food I made last week - honey and herb grilled chicken. I also made brussels sprouts and green beans and we had an apple, raspberry pie. Very tasty.

This morning, spouse had a blow-out - fortunately it was right near our house, but what if it had happened when we were driving home yesterday! We are lucky. It means however, that we need new tires, and the blow-out was caused by some spring that punctured the tire, so that's another few hundred. Ugh.

Finally heard from my parents via email; although they called from someone else's cell while we were away.

They're having a great time so that's good.

This week - nothing major I hope. Tonight's dinner - salmon, steamed asparagas and rice.

And for now, except for a whompin' of puberty - that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!