Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:20 a.m. - 2008-03-24
Off the couch
I am crawling back into the land o'the living. I can breathe a bit better, but I still have no lasting-power. Do something, sit down and rest; do something else, sit down and rest. Friday, Andy and I hung out (he was also feeling poorly) and he decided he wanted to get out and have sushi for lunch. We did that, picked up some groceries, and hung out. He felt well enough (and he'd had no fever since Thursday afternoon) to go to his friend's birthday/sleepover. Spouse and I just sort of vegged Friday night - he finished the leftover sushi, and I skipped dinner. Saturday morning was go-go-go - Andy's party was done by 9 and then he had his saxophone lesson. After that, we had other errands to run and by mid-afternoon, we were done. My neighbor called to ask for help stuffing the eggs for the egg-hunt on Sunday. (We stuffed more than 400 eggs!) Then we headed out for church. Earlier, we'd found three area churches that were having afternoon services (according to their respective websites) but all the listings were incorrect, so we found no Easter vigil service. Instead, we said some prayers at one of the chapels, and came home to watch the "Ten Commandments." Each year, it just seems that the acting gets worse.

Sunday morning, the Easter bunny came. Andy got some "Naruto" anime books, some foot and hand warmers for his upcoming camping trip and a fair amount of chocolate, as well as a little toy guinea pig. Spouse got a new CD (China Forbes); his favorite kind of chocolate, cashews, marmalade and a card. I got some pistatios, a new purse (that I had picked out last fall and told spouse to reserve it for Spring gift-giving), and some chocolate covered pretzels.

We had our annual neighborhood Easter egg hunt Sunday morning, and I cooked up 5 lbs of bacon that lasted all of 6 minutes before it was gone.

In the afternoon, we went to my brother's for Easter dinner. I made a ton of crescent rolls, a bagna cauda sauce for raw veggies and the roasted asparagas, and we brought the wine. I liked that - we were in charge of bread and wine.

Dinner and the visit was very nice - my brother made his famous marinated boneless leg of lamb, then grilled it. We had oven-roasted potatoes, the asparagas, mashed potatoes, the crescents, and the crudite for dinner; and two kinds of pie for dessert.

Spouse, Andy and I got home around 8, and got ready for the week.

Today is all about digging out and catching up. I managed to get dinner in the crockpot this morning, because I have a feeling I'm going to have to crash this afternoon.

I have to say, a surprisingly SMALL amount of chocolate was consumed yesterday. Don't know what's up with that!?!

Not much else to report.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!