Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:16 a.m. - 2008-01-31
And little umbrella drinks
I know! I didn't have to get up again last night either! But at the end of the day yesterday, we were too pooped to make it to the high school jazz concert. Andy was invited to a friend's house, so we sent over some dinner with him (the mojito chicken - very yummy!) and he was a happy camper. Spouse and I hung out and had the chicken, watched the news, blew our noses at each other, and collected Andy at 7:30.

I have a new teevee addiction - it is a 45-part series/drama on therapy on HBO. I can't remember the name of it this morning, it stars Gabriel Byrne as the therapist, and Diane Weist as his therapist. So far, very interesting, especially when I see how the Byrne character deflects certain questions in the same way that my therapist did. I've been thinking about going back to therapy - haven't been in individual therapy since before Andy was born (except for the two-time stint with the psychiatrist when I had post-partum depression just after Andy was born.) I've been thinking about it. I have these two issues that keep coming back to BITE ME and since I'm not doing such a good job of handling them myself, it might be a good idea. Except I have no desire to find the time to do it. I can't even think about changing my schedule right now. Avoidance? Probably.

This weekend we are having dinner company, so I am making a Cuban dinner - roast pork with lime and garlic; marduros (fried sweet plantains); yellow rice, black beans, and a salad of tomatoes, onions and avocados. For dessert I am making a tres leches cake. And maybe I will make mojitos. I LOVE Cuban food, but I cannot find any restaurants around here, or even in the big cities I live near. So I usually only get to eat it when I go to see my family in Florida.

Speaking of which...my parents phone is STILL out of order, and apparently, my mother forgot to turn on her cell phone yesterday, so no one has spoken to them for two days. I know they are fine, I just know they are also arguing about whose responsibility it is to figure out which phone is messing up their house and I don't see either of them budging at the moment.

Tonight we are visiting the land of leftovers for dinner. And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!