Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:31 a.m. - 2008-01-02
A slower start to the new year
Yowza - The weather predicted a huge snow storm yesterday, so the phone started ringing about 10 a.m. with all kinds of cancellations for the party. I didn't think anyone would come - MIL started on her way, but turned around after about 15 minutes because she was worried about the snow. Dave's work friends all cancelled (They're about an hour away, west of us) and other friends in the big city were also wary of driving, so they cancelled.

I had resigned myself to eating ham for the rest of January, but we ended up somehow with about 60 people - mostly neighbors - and it was very fun! I made a big ham, my Nana and Bumpy's macaroni and cheese (everyone's favorite - pasta, orange American (YES - CHEESEFOOD), onions, salt and pepper); black eyed pea salad with prosciutto and basil; a big chocolate feast cake my mother made; cheese and crackers, chips and salsa, cookies and rolls. The neighbors brought shrimp; a really yummy lobster and artichoke dip; kielbasa with bbq sauce; and potitsa (a nut and spice bread.) We went through alot of red wine this year, and I have to remember that for next time.

Did I also write that my brother and SIL and kids came for lunch on Saturday? She told us that her mother has colon cancer and is being operated on today. We're all praying for her. I find this situation especially awful, because my SIL's father is a physician - a pathologist, though he's been retired for a few years because he has Parkinson's disease. So my brother's in-laws are in their mid-70s and have never had a colonoscopy. She went for her first one at age 74 - a few days before Christmas, and that's when they found the cancer. I just don't understand why she hadn't gone before. We'll keep them in our prayers.

This also means that my folks won't be spending as much time with my brother's family, since my SIL won't likely want company while she's taking care of her mother. We'll have to see. My parents are here until later next week.

What else is new? I made a bunch of lasagnas and some extra dinners and gave them to neighborfriends. After we finish the very little leftovers of the party, my fridge will be pretty clean.

And now, I am back at work, figuring out which projects to get going on. Neither of my coworkers are in today, so I'm all by myself. The office is a bit chilly even for me - sweaters tomorrow! Tomorrow it is supposed to only be in the single digits.

My folks are home staying warm and recovering from a house full of company. Spouse is doing a wonderful thing and de-Christmasing the house. Even though we didn't do as many decorations as we usually do, he still has to do the switch from my Christmas china and linens to the regular ones. He'll take down the tree and the other decorations, and when I come home tonight, there will be little or no signs of Christmas left, which is how I like it after January 1.

Andy was reluctant to go back to school this morning after more than a week off. He likes staying home with the family, especially when my folks are here. My Aunt and Uncle stayed with us for New Year's Eve and left late last night.

Not much else to report.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!