Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:44 a.m. - 2007-12-17
Appliance suicide
I'm kind of having a difficult day. We had a decent but busy weekend, and I was feeling relieved that we got through my MIL's birthday (baked the cake, found and wrapped all the gifts, got her to lunch, did her and FIL's errands, etc.); then we went to the holiday concert Saturday night with neighborfriends and enjoyed ourselves. We planned it so that we didn't have to go out Sunday since we knew we were getting snow and ice all day, and we did! I started my 6 dozen cookies for the cookie swap; started laundry, started the dishes, straightened up the pantry, did the bills, all by 8 a.m. Andy came down around 7:30 and asked to go play in the snow and he did and had a great time - then he and spouse shoveled a bit before everything froze up and Andy whacked himself in the eye with the shovel handle. He's fine, but he has a bit of a bruise above his eyebrow. Fortunately, he hit his bony forehead and not his actual eye, but there was much complaining. Then the dishwasher died, though we didn't realize it until several hours later. I headed off to the cookie swap at 3 and when I came back at 5 it was still running even though I had put it on around noon. No water, so a pump must be going or gone. Spouse and Andy got the tree in from the garage and we put up lights and garlands. We'll decorate throughout the next days, so that's done. I shipped off my sister's presents Saturday (spouse hit the P.O. for me); I ordered two more gifts, so that's done and really I was enjoying a bit of calm, but now I'm a bit freaked by the massive appliance suicide. What worries me is that the television in our family room had a little "episode" yesterday morning, and then the one in our bedroom did the same thing last night and just died. I wonder if we are having electrical issues??? Poor spouse - he worked diligently to try and fix the television, but it is just dead. It is probably 15 years old, but now they don't make those kind any more and we'll have to get a flat screen to replace it. Ugh. Also, we're broke.

So.

I know, I know, nothing earth shattering. I just feel a bit defeated. I'm grateful that I have a roof over my head and that we're doing fine, but it is these annoying and inconvenient set backs that frustrate me. So I am hopeful that since we've now lost three appliances in a week (the dryer had to be repaired last week) that the spell is over for now.

This week: Cub Scouts, wrapping, cleaning, card writing, baking, more cleaning, cooking and whining. Tonight we have a cub scout pack meeting; tomorrow is my college's holiday celebration at the president's house with 180 people. Wednesday is our department lunch (pot luck) and Thursday is my rescheduled hair cut and color. So far, no weekend obligations.

And for now, except for this frustrating malaise, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!