Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:39 a.m. - 2007-12-04
Our future leaders
We did our version of Cub Scout "Idol" last night. Three boys did a saxophone performance, singly and together; one boy played the violin; one the cello; one the guitar and one told some jokes; another did a magic trick; one did "bad jokes, bad songs and bad dances," and one gave a 5 minute speech on the state of the American education system. It was an amusing evening, but sometimes I think we don't expect enough from these kids. Some of them kept saying how "stupid" it was, but didn't want to get off the stage. Three of them whined that a 2-minute performance was too long. Four showed up completely unprepared. Can you guess which ones? They whined "But we didn't knooooooooow." I reminded them that they each get a sheet monthly telling them what their activities and requirements are; that their parents get emails a week before each meeting; that they received a master calendar in September; and that we remind them of what is due at the next meeting at the previous meeting. These are the people who will be taking care of me in the nursing home.

Do I sound curmudgeonly?

It is beginning of February cold today - grey, the sky is the color of milk, and there are a few flurries. The slush from yesterday is frozen into interesting mounds and tracks.

Last night's soup was delicious! I may make it again this weekend - very easy except for the meatballs. Spouse is in charge of dinner tonight.

Heard that my brother is going skiing with his family right after Christmas. I don't know how that will affect my parents' visiting time.

Tonight I have no meetings, so I'm hoping to set up our mirror pond and clean off the table in the family room. Maybe we'll hang up some of our inside decorations.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!