Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:04 a.m. - 2007-11-19
I am a half-century old.
I have officially completed my first half-century of life today. Spouse had raspberries and chocolate milk ready for my breakfast, and unbeknownst to me he has been working on the study where in my fits of bitchiness, I complain that I have no space. Spouse cleaned out lots of his stuff (books, papers, etc.) moved them to his office at the university, and gave me a big chunk of space in the room. I also got: 2 beaded headbands, three chocolate bars, a new purse, a gift certificate for a spa weekend in January, a bottle of Drambui (scotch and honey) and a beautiful silver pin of a heart and puzzle pieces. Andy gave me little gold-hoop earrings and Bengal Spice tea which I've been looking for for MONTHS! Tonight we have cub-scouts so I was glad for a morning celebration.

Last night we had my brother and his family over for dinner, as well as my aunt and uncle. Dinner turned out really good! I stuffed little slivers of garlic into the pork roast with pistatios and golden raisins. Very yummy. Spouse bought a cake, so at least we didn't have to bake our own birthday cakes. My aunt and uncle gave Dave two nice bottles of wine; and I got some polo shirts and a dollar for each year. My brother and SIL gave me a spa gift card. Do you detect a theme? Do you think I need some RELAXING?

I'm working backwards here--Saturday night Andy and I took spouse out to dinner. We gave him his presents for Saturday breakfast before I had to go to work. We got him a new suit (which he had picked out when we were on vacation in Seattle (Hi Mary!); and also a new pair of cranberry-colored Chinos, a Clash CD, a Pink Martini CD, and a tub of cashews. Andy got him a book store gift card. I wasn't as kind to spouse as he was to me, so he had to get his own breakfast. (I did make him his coffee though...)

Saturday's work event went off very well. I got some praise and glory from my boss and the President for pulling it off, and that is nice.

Came home Saturday afternoon and fell asleep for an hour.

Saturday afternoon, Andy and I went to Church so we could sleep in a bit on Sunday before the cleaning marathon.

I have an announcement to make: The dining room table is clear, and should stay that way for at least a week.

Friday...how did Friday go? Spouse wanted to go out to eat, so we ended up at a little sandwich place in the center of town and I had a burger, spouse had fried clams and Andy had a pile-o'ribs. We all had ice cream for dessert.

Did I already write that we have a diabetic guinea pig? Spouse did the test as the vet instructed, even though she said it is "incredibly rare" for guinea pigs to be diabetic. And guess what - the test is positive. We have to take him in next week for some bloodwork. I have NO IDEA what one does for a diabetic guinea pig. I'm hoping it is not shots, because I had a hard enough time giving those to myself when I was doing the whole infertility thing (though the result was so worth it...)

Anyway. Friday, we came home after dinner and all promptly fell asleep.

OF course I have to ruin spouse's gift by thinking that maybe I'm smothering him by asking for space in the study. I feel guilty that he is removing so much of his stuff (though that didn't stop me from bitching about it before did it?) So I'll have to work on that.

I have to give out the rest of the beautiful bracelets I had made (thank you Kathy!) for the women in my life who got me through my first 50 years.

And for now, that's all I got. (Oh yeah - I have lots of blessings and love from my friends and family. I am very, very fortunate.)

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!