Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:41 a.m. - 2007-10-30
List of chores and things
I don't know how come I can spend so much time cleaning (i.e. putting things away where they belong - we're not even talking about deep cleaning or washing or polishing here) and still the house looks like a yard sale. Andy is going through a phase of just plopping things down when he comes in, so the house is a constant trail of backpack, karate belt, hats, star-wars toys, pokeman cards, homework, drawings and inside out socks. This morning I calmly asked him to put the cap back on the toothpaste, and the toothpaste back in the bathroom. (It was in the family room.) Am I getting angry because I'm tired? Or is he getting sloppier?

Last night I made the WW pizza casserole - very tasty, only 5 points; then I also made a big pot of Cuban Pecadillo (ground meat - I used very lean beef and very lean turkey -, olives, tomatoes, onions, peppers, garlic, adobo seasoning, cumin, a pinch of cinnamon (I don't really like cinnamon on meat) and black pepper. You brown the meat, add the spices and set aside after you drain off the fat; then you sautee the peppers, garlic and onions, and add everything back together, adjust the seasoning and serve with rice and beans. Very yummy. Anyway, we were going to have that for dinner tonight, but spouse found inexpensive lobsters, and we have been promising my mother lobsters for the last few visits, so we just got them and had them steamed, so we'll have that tonight.

Washed the livingroom drapes, picked up the dining room and part of the living room, cleaned the guest bathroom, tidied up the guest room, and that was that. I'm hopeful that spouse will wipe down the counters and sweep the floor.

Tomorrow is Halloween and my neighborfriend always hosts a halloween party/pizza supper before we all go out. So Andy and spouse will make the rounds, and my mother and I will do the candy. I always worry that I don't have enough. Thursday I'm working at home, Friday I have a quick meeting on campus, then meetings in Boston; and Friday night we'll take my mother to my brother's so she can see his kids; then Saturday night, we'll probably pick her up and bring her back if my brother and his family are too busy to get her to our house again. Sunday - I don't know what we'll do, and Monday my Mom leaves.

This afternoon before I pick up my mother at the airport, we pick up the new car (which thankfully is at a dealership near the airport.) Spouse will take me, then go back to pick up Andy and take him to the library and Karate.

Oh - and "The Great Pumpkin" is on tonight! YAY!!!

And for now - that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!