Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:54 a.m. - 2007-10-26
Friday and feuds
Happy Friday Dance! Had to come into work early to drop off proofs of our magazine to the president. Plus, my car died last night again. I got in it last night to go home around 6, and then pick up a rotisserie chicken for dinner and the car would not start. I called AAA, then spouse who had taken Andy to Karate, and then knew I'd have to wait over an hour for AAA. Fortunately, I tried to start the car again, and after some coaxing, it actually started. I drove about 10 miles to see if it will hold a charge, then I came home. Spouse didn't think it would be a good idea to stop the car at the grocery store, so he and Andy offered to go and get the dinner. Sadly though, they were out of chicken when they got there, so he turned around and went to the Whole Foods and got us sushi. And that's my story of last night. We watched the Office, we watched the ball game. We fell asleep in the 8th inning, and here I am today wearing college-logoed clothing for one of our six open houses. It is a beautiful fall day, and the campus is gorgeous. Lots of cool stuff going on.

Oh, and I had a fight with my brother:

I called to ask him when he wanted my mother to come and stay with them. They have so many activities that they don't always know their schedule. So I suggested that since we were going to be in Boston on Friday afternoon, that my SIL who also talked about attending the event we were going to in Boston could take Mom home with her Friday night, and they could bring her back on Saturday night and we could all have dinner. He was pissed that he only got "24 hours" with her. I said that I had invited her up for my birthday, and that he had already told me that Thursday and Friday wouldn't work for him so I thought this was the best solution. He complained that he always gets short shrift with the visits and I said that he should invite her more often. He was still fuming. I also said that we tried to make plans with him on many occasions, but that he either was too busy or that they didn't get back to us. He said that he thought that was a separate argument. I really was trying to be fair. I really do want my niece and nephew to get to see my mother, but he was still pissed and said that maybe it just wouldn't work out this time since it was my "special visit." I told him to think about it and if he had another alternative, that I would be happy to talk about it. He hung up, but then called back about 15 minutes later and said that I was probably right, that it would be the only time that it would work out. But I still think things are tense.

I feel like no good deed goes unpunished.

So anyway, this weekend: Tonight is a carnival of cleaning (HAHAHAHA - like I won't come home and fall asleep at 7.) Tomorrow we go to see our niece, then test drive a car that I really want at a dealership in Rhode Island. Then we come home and clean some more. Sunday, groceries, laundry, cleaning, another test drive, and then I have to make a decision about the car. Used Taurus, low mileage, ordinary car that I'm used to; or new Matrix - sporty little 5-speed but $4K more. What. To. Do.

I also have to figure out a costume for work next Wednesday. My co-workers want to go as a voodoo priestes and a voodoo doll. I can either be another voodoo doll or a zombie, but I've no idea how to execute that. My brain has no room to figure this out.

Happy Friday Dance! And for now that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!