Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:59 a.m. - 2007-10-22
The weekend recap
Another fun-filled weekend. Friday night, Andy was at a birthday party for his friend, and spouse and I were still full from lunch, so we didn't have dinner. Then he went to pick Andy up from the party and I went to crop. I decided to work on a book of cards and telegrams my grandmother had saved when my mother was born, and until about her 2nd birthday. The cards were so interesting, there were about 20 of them, with three telegrams. They were in an old paper scrapbook (well, yah, I guess, what else are scrapbooks made of...) and I had a special tool (plastic flat thing) to take the cards off the paper which was brown and brittle. I removed those Friday night, then treated them with an acid neutralizer (TUMS FOR EVERYONE!!!) so that the paper would not deteriorate even further. Then I trimmed the names underneath each card that were in my Grandmother's handwriting. Went home around 10 p.m. and got to see spouse and Andy for a bit before shooing Andy off to bed because he had to be up early to sell popcorn for the cub scouts. Saturday morning, we got up like it was a school day (which means 6:15 a.m.) and got ready - Andy got in his uniform, spouse started packing the car, and I headed off to have breakfast with two friends - one who was cropping with me that day, and another who usually does, but couldn't that day. Had a nice breakfast - it is all about the bacon and biscuits and sweet tea for me...

Then we headed off to crop. Spouse and Andy called from the road once they headed off to the campsite. The weather was unusually warm - in the mid-70s, so we didn't really have to worry about frostbite...and the rain stopped shortly after midnight so there was plenty of time for things to dry out. Andy went in a row boat, fished, did a campfire skit, cooked on an open fire with his new mess kit and had a great time. Spouse is such a good dad to do that for Andy. They slept in their little tent and there was a brief shower, and they were lulled to sleep by the baseball game. I got home and started the laundry, then got sucked into Forrest Gump and then the baseball game. I ordered myself a pizza, ate a slice and bagged the rest. Ugh. I mostly finished up my mother's book. I just need a copy of her birth certificate and baptismal certificate, and then I have to do a cover page. Then I should be done and I can give it to her when she comes next week.

What else? Sunday morning I thought I could sleep in a bit, but spouse and Andy called at 6:30 and said they'd be home by 10. So I got up and finished some other chores and got things ready for the block party. I know I probably groused about having to organize it again this year, but we really had a great time. The neighbors who hadn't responded came anyway, everyone had fun, another family brought DJ equipment so we had live music, and the weather was perfect - mid to high 70s, light breeze, not a cloud in the sky. And...no one got hurt. I got some great pics. The festivities were supposed to wind up around 5, but we finally called it quits at 7:30 - too dark, too buggy, and our permit to block off the street expired at 5, so it was time.

Last night, we AGAIN got sucked into the baseball game. So much for going to sleep early. Today - meetings, cub scouts, more car research. And it is 83 degrees outside.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!