Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:10 a.m. - 2007-10-15
Just a couple more days?
Carayzee weekend: Andy had his Karate Belt test to get his brown belt. It was TWO HOURS LONG! They ran, they quizzed, they worked out, they did take downs, they ran some more, they did all the sets; then they had to kick and break wooden boards. Andy did his in one kick - the board was over an inch thick. He was so earnest about it, and spouse and I were really proud. Another friend and her son were there, and they really are the ones who got us into Karate in the first place, so we invited them to dinner with us after the test. We wanted to try a newish place that had opened downtown. We were worried that there would be a wait at 7:30 on a Friday night, but there were lots of empty tables. Bad sign number one. No one acknowledged us for about 6 minutes. Bad sign number two. I stopped someone as they went by and was told they'd get to us, but that people didn't show up for work. I should have taken the cue then, but we waited and finally someone after three tries, set up a table for us after trying to squish five of us into a booth for four. When. There. Were. Empty. Tables.

But now - we soldiered on. We ordered water, spouse got a glass of wine; neighborfriend got a soda. Andy, the other boy and I got water. We told them we were starving and we'd like to order in the most polite way...No one came to take our order for about 15 minutes. Finally someone came, we ordered and were told it would come quickly, but that the kitchen people were probably watching the game (first game of the red sox and indians). One Hour Later, the food came. We asked our server a few times what the story was, we got up to leave - she said the food was on its way. Really - we ordered pasta and pizza. How long does that take??? We asked for the manager. He told us that our meals would be on the house, that he was sorry for the wait, but they had moved here a few weeks ago after months of renovations and were used to a larger kitchen. We ate the mediocre and somewhat cold food, but we were so hungry, we wolfed it down. The bill came. The manager only took the drinks off - one soda, one wine, and told us that is what he meant to say. He said he hoped we would be back soon. I don't think so.

I would have been perfectly fine if someone had just said "Sorry, we're having some timing problems in the kitchen." Just don't hide and expect customers to be happy. Yikes - I don't know how long this place will last.

Then Saturday we began the great car hunt. I have to replace my car (which has nearly 200K miles on it. I like this car, but it is time even though my commute is so short.) Anyway, we are looking at Ford Taurus (is the plural Taurii?) and Toyotas. I did my homework. We found one used Taurus that might work, but it didn't thrill me. It is EXACTLY like spouse's car - exactly. Andy had a friend over for the afternoon, then we went to church, I made pasta for supper (it took 9 minutes INCLUDING a home-made sauce - take THAT stupid new restaurant); and then he and his friends played their night-time hide and seek game with the neighborhood. Apparently there were some "teenagers" who were teasing the younger ones, and Andy stepped up to intercede and told them to leave the kids alone. They thought that was "cool" according to Andy. Do I encourage his diplomacy? Or do I worry that sometime he will do that and get hurt. Yes, I always focus on the negative don't I???

Sunday it was more car hell - this time with new cards. We were armed with fresh ads from the Sunday paper, but of course when we got there, there were no cars at that price, and we were informed "well there is just one car amongst the five dealerships" and EVERYONE does that. So basically, I said. When it says "several in stock" that is a lie. They did not like that. We looked at a car that I fell in love with - a 5-speed Matrix. Very cute, very comfortable. They were asking way more than they should be. I told them I had researched the MSRP. They said they would have no trouble selling it at that price. We walked. I wonder how long it will take for them to call us? They did the whole "I have to ask my manager" thing. The sales guy we dealt with lives around the corner from us, though we had never met him. An recent immigrant from Russia. The whole procedure left me feeling like I needed to shower. We went to another new chain restaurant (think day of the week) for lunch. It too was awful, but there was no wait.

Stopped to pick up a birthday present, did the festival o'laundry and cleaning; paid bills, researched some more cars, etc., etc. And I made fish tacos for dinner last night. I roasted some fish with garlic and scallions in a foil pouch (technically I guess that is steaming); made some pico de gallo (tomatoes, garlic, scallions, lime juice, hot pepper, salt and cilantro - sorry Jane); made some guacamole and shredded some cabbage. It was very tasty - even Andy ate it. Spouse can have the leftovers for lunch. Tonight is tomato soup, grilled cheese and cub scout halloween festivities.

This is kind of a hell week again, and the block party is this weekend. I'm kind of tired of organizing. Everyone wants to do it, but no one can help - I'm begging for a grill, tables, and help picking up the moonwalk. I got the yard sale permit, the closing off the street permit, sent out the invites, etc., but I think I may be done after this one.

And for now I think, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!