Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:06 a.m. - 2007-10-08
Monday and a little rain
Brown belt Karate test - cancelled, because the instructor was sick with the 24 hour stomach virus that has been going around.

Saturday, we ended up taking the in-laws to dinner because MIL felt it might cut into her treadmill and FIL's tv sports watching time. Because that's what is really important.

Actually, she gave me a little goodie bag of a bracelet made out of little skeleton bones, a witch pin and some blinky jack-=o=-lantern earrings. Bribery helps.

On the way home, spouse's engine light came on and we were totally freaked. We got it home, but given that today is ah holiday, it was hard to track down a service station that could take a look at it today. We decided to rent a car for spouse even though the guy we connected with at the service station said it should be okay to drive it with the light on.

So now this really forces our hand to get a good car in place of my poor little old ford. Yesterday the kids spent alot of time outdoors. I made a really yummy pork dish that I saw on one of the cooking shows.

Slice some pork loin roast, dredge in seasoned flour, cook in a bit of olive oil until each side is golden. Add some fresh sage leaves. Remove from the heat. Add about 1/4 cup white wine, and some chopped tomatoes. Top each pork slice with a thick slice of tomato and a good sprinkling of parmesan or romano cheese. Cook in a 500 degree oven for 5-7 minutes and serve. Oh. my. It was so good.

Tonight my friend is coming for diner with her daughter and we'll celebrate her birthday (which is tomorrow.,) I'm making chicken breasts with zucchini, basil and mint. Also roasted green beans. We're both trying to do weight watchers, so I'll get one of their desserts for her cake.

Otherwise, a relatively uneventful weekend. So far no work calls (YAY!) and we got a little rain which we need desperately. Talked with all the siblings and my parents, so all relevant checking in is done.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!